Home > BREAKFAST > NEW BLUEBELL FLAVOR: “HOG HEAVEN”

NEW BLUEBELL FLAVOR: “HOG HEAVEN”

As good as it looks.....

“Anticipation….it’s making me wait…..” Carly said it sooooo well….I had anticipated…waited….all week for Saturday morning….not just for the fact that it is the first day of the weekend….but on this particular Saturday morning I was going to try….a new delicacy…

 There aren’t many things that will get me up at 6am on a Saturday morning….maybe a trip….a renaissance faire….going to an out-of-town football game…and….well….breakfast…..but that is where the list begins and ends….

 This particular Saturday morning had me headed for Denny’s….now normally Denny’s wouldn’t be a Saturday morning breakfast destination…..don’t get me wrong….there’s nothing wrong with Denny’s….some think of it as a cheap version of IHOP….personally I think they are about the same….IHOP may edge Denny’s out cuz they do have the multiple flavors of syrup….but…and this is a very big but….Denny’s is having….BACONALIA…..so at this time….Denny’s is king…..

 I pulled into the parking lot at the Denny’s at Cypresswood and 45, and made my way inside….I was meeting some old buddies for breakfast….(my wife having declined the Pork Party this particular morning)….I can see this becoming a Breakfast Club…..Ol’ Doc Riha….and the Theiss Brothers….(Sean and Bubba)….who can beat a BACONALIA with a guy named….Bubba??

 I was the first to arrive….imagine that….and then Sean and Ol’ Doc, and last but not least ….Bubba….

 We tossed the regular menu aside and all fought over the laminated listing of the BACONALIA selections.  (I’ve included the link…if you’re interested)….there are many bacon delights from which you may choose.

 I pretty much knew what I wanted before I sat down…having studied the online menu all week….the Bacon Flapjacks were on my radar…..with a Bacon Sundae chaser…..

 The others all got the Ultimate Bacon Breakfast…and three of us wanted the sundae…..the waitress even commented that she was glad she knew CPR….cuz she could see three heart attacks waiting to happen…..

 Two of these guys, Ol’ Doc and Bubba, are guys I taught with in my life before Goodson….(the Dark Times….)and we exchanged stories about school while we waited for our plates of pork….Seems things are pretty much the same at my old school and I think my decision to escape when I could was a good one….

 Finally our meals arrived (no sundaes yet) and we proceeded to attack and conquer…. most conversation died at this point and with the exception of an occasional grunt ….the table was void of human interaction….

 The Bacon Flapjacks come with two eggs, hash browns, and two strips of bacon…and I will have to say that after a week of salivating over Flapjacks stuffed with bacon….I was a little disappointed in what I was shoveling down my throat… the Flapjacks are good enough and the idea of filling them with bacon is incredible….but…..there’s just not enough bacon in them to make it as good as they should be….there was a bacon bit here and there and for the most part they were just ordinary flapjacks…I suppose with any great idea there are ways to screw it up…..and in this case…they sorta did….

 The Ultimate Bacon Breakfasts that my companions  were wolfing down were regular breakfasts with just a behind-load of bacon on the side….maybe the more intelligent way to have gone….they all seemed to enjoy what they had….

 After we scraped our plates clean our waitress returned with our sundaes….they were….beautiful…..heavenly creations…full of ice cream, maple syrup and pieces of crispy bacon throughout….now here again….they’ve got a really wonderful idea and not quite got it…..right

 Please don’t misunderstand….I loved it….from the first spoonful, till I was tipping the glass into my mouth….it was gooooooooooood……dang gooooooooooooood……but…..all of the maple syrup is on the bottom….so to get all three tastes at once you sorta had to dig your way through…..now the bacon and ice cream combo is de-licious all by their lonesome…..but when the maple syrup makes its way into the dance…..Lordy Have Mercy……I know you’ve seen those old 50’s and 60’s movies that when a couple was about to….well…..you know….they would raise the volume of the music and show rockets shooting off or fireworks blasting away……well…..yeah…..that was the moment I was having….I think my toes curled….(sorry….maybe TMI)….but….it was that good…..

 Between spoonfuls of creamy pork palooza….Sean uttered something as profound as I’ve ever heard…..”This is an interesting dichotomy of textures and flavors…..”

 And I did hear Bubba at one point….at least I think I heard him….say….”I’ve had enough bacon….”

 Not sure how that is even possible……I can’t think of anything that Bacon won’t make better…..don’t even try to argue……it’s a fact…..Bacon is the perfect food and adding it to anything only makes it….more than better…..

 So, if you enjoy bacon…..Denny’s is your spot this month…..

 I still want to go back and try the BBBLT….a bacon, lettuce & tomato with 8 slices of bacon…..

 And yes…..another SUNDAE…….

Categories: BREAKFAST
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

