Home > BREAKFAST > AND ON THE EIGHTH DAY…THE ALMIGHTY CREATED….CHICKEN FRIED BACON…

AND ON THE EIGHTH DAY…THE ALMIGHTY CREATED….CHICKEN FRIED BACON…

We were making a trip to Mom-Mom’s (The Wife’s Mother) to pick up some furniture….she lives in the Hill Country so we decided to swing through Round Rock to catch an Express baseball game (got to be better than the Last-Stros…)…

Chicken Fried Bacon

Now here in H-Town we have some killer places to eat….San Antonio has its share of Fat Joe Joints (FJJ’S)….but the Austin/Round Rock area takes a back-seat to no one….and maybe if you’re looking solely on the size of the city….Round Rock may be able to take down those “Giant-Type” cities….with that ol’ round rock they have sitting in the river in the middle of town….

But….there is one place….that for Fat Joe….is the hands down winner for the title…..”IF I COULD ONLY HAVE ONE THING TO EAT FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE”….contest….

The place is The 620 Cafe & Bakery…  if there was ever a food that  The Almighty (and in this case I”m don’t mean The Wife) had a divine hand in creating….it is something they serve in this wonderful little place slap-dab in the middle of Round Rock, Texas…

Chicken Fried Bacon….there, I’ve typed out the words….my fingers are so inadequate to do so…but sometimes a humble writer must venture beyond his station to share with others the wonders of our world….

I will never forget the first time I saw these words….it was at The 620 Cafe…it’s funny how in those moments in your life that really stick out…you can remember each and every little bitty detail….I remember what table we were sitting at….I remember there was a cloud passing over the mid morning sun….I remember The Wife had on a green flowered shirt and her hair was pulled back….I remember the fork was askewed from the knife as it laid on the checkered table cloth…I remember my shoe was untied….I remember it like it was yesterday…..(not really…. I can’t remember yesterday….you expect me to remember something from a year and a half ago?)

What I do remember is…The Wife was working in Round Rock and I had gone up for a weekend visit…she had told me about this place that I might enjoy for breakfast….she knows me so well….

We walked in and the smells from the fresh baked breads, pies, cakes and cookies were enough to make my  head swim and my stomach growl….we were seated and given our menus…..I glanced over the fair they offered and I ordered my standard coffee and water….as the waitress left to go get our drinks I began a more serious study of the breakfast menu…..the standards were all there….pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, gravy-n-biscuts….but then…..oh dear reader….then…..my eyes settled on those three words that would forever change what I thought I knew about….Mana from Heaven….

CHICKEN FRIED BACON…served with cream gravy….

My world would never ever be the same….

As the waitress returned I looked at her in an entirely new light…and I swear there was a Heavenly light emanating from her golden hair…..

“Tell me about…..Chicken Fried Bacon”…..the words had no more escaped my lips when she smiled….this was not the first time she had that asked of her….

“It’s….gooooooooooooooooooood,” she said….”You get four pieces of bacon cooked, then deep-fried and served with our cream gravy”.

“I want that”…..I could hardly hear what I was saying….I knew I had entered a realm beyond what my mortal being had ever encountered in my 49 years on Earth….

The Wife gave me one of those looks like…..I’m not so sure about that…..Chicken Fried Bacon….sounds…..well…I don’t think I’ll like that too much….

I shrugged and thought…more for me then…..

Had there not been fresh muffins on the table for us to snack on while we waited for our breakfast….I don’t think I would have been able to contain my anticipation for what I was about to eat….

As the CFB arrived…..and the waitress gave us the “It’s very hot” warning….hot or not….I couldn’t wait….OMG it was hot….but I didn’t care……I took that golden fried bacon and dipped it into that off -white creamed gravy and brought it to my mouth….The Wife was watching as I bit down and tasted what has to be one of God’s true wonders….

I couldn’t help but smile……”Is it any good?”, The Wife asked…..

Nodding was all I could do as I finished off that first piece and reached for number two…

“I guess I’ll try it”, she said….and I found myself torn….part of me was glad she was going to share this wonderful thing with me….but there was that little devil on my shoulder saying….”If she eats it…she’s gonna like it…..and there goes half of what you have …..”

And I watched across the table as she had the same expression on her lovely face as I knew I had when I took that first bite…..

Bliss……Blisss….Sweet Bliss….

Imagine if you will….the best chicken fried steak batter you’ve ever had……then imagine it covering a perfectly cooked, crisp piece of bacon…..and…..that my friend isn’t even close to how good this stuff is…

Words….at least the limited vocabulary I posses will not be able to convey how incredible this stuff is….I wish I had that within me to be able to make you taste and experience Chicken Fried Bacon through the words on this computer screen….it is something that you must try for yourself….

I know there are other places that have this on their menus….but I can’t believe that there are any places that do it better than The 620 does…

BTW…the rest of the breakfast was ding-dang good too….they make a mean omelette and their biscuits are good as Granny’s…..it’s a great family oriented spot…the staff is friendly and they seem to stay so, it must be a pretty good place to work….The Wife says the lunch menu is just as good as the breakfast……and we all know….she ain’t ever wrong….

I know that the verse….”And on the eighth day….God created Chicken Fried Bacon”….just got left out somehow…..but I think that years from now there will be a scroll discovered somewhere deep in a cave in the Middle East that will prove that this particular creation was one of His really good ones….

http://www.620cafeandbakery.com/

Categories: BREAKFAST
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

