Home > BURGERS > LUNCH WITH THE GIRLS…

LUNCH WITH THE GIRLS…

In education we do some of the strangest things…for example….we work one day out of our summer vacation so we can take a day off in the fall….I guess the thinking is we have days in the summer to spare….but…really??? 

 Work a day-Get a day….what a concept….

I once told my supervisor I would just work the day in the fall….I was quickly informed that if I worked someone would have to be at the school so I could be there….go figure….

I really do have to work on not trying to figure things out…cuz….most don’t and never will make sense….at least not to me…

Anyhow…onwards to lunch…we were working our “Trade-off Day” and when it came time to go to lunch I tagged along with a group of ladies…now, I work in a predominantly female career and in a predominantly female school….so being the only guy at lunch is something I’ve gotten used to….Not a bad gig if you can get it….

 Husky’s…was the joint of choice…

Having never heard of this place I was told it was at the corner of Telge & West Road in Cypress…and sure enough that was right where it was….at the end of a strip-center….I found a place to park and walked in….very nice place…a little more involved than some burger spots…there is a case full of cookies and one filled with pie & cake…there is lots of seating and more than one TV tuned to ESPN to   help pass the time waiting for your burger…

The menu took me a couple of minutes to get a handle on….the main items are  four combos…the first two  have different ways to build burger/sandwich combos…the third is a wrap combo….and the fourth is a sub combo…they also offer soups, salads, nachos, baked potatoes, and wings…

I went with burger/sandwich combo #2…there are steps with creating your burger….

1) choose your patty….I went with 1/2 lb. fresh angus beef

2) choose your bread….I went with Husky’s Original Sweet Sourdough with onion

3) choose your signature topping….now here I had a delima….there’s a lot to pick from…16 choices…it took me a moment or two to let my head stop spinning and focus on what I wanted….I went with the chopped bbq beef….

4) choose your side….I noticed there was a sign posted on the register that they now served sweet potato fries…..and that’s the way I rolled…

With a drink the combo is $9.99….so not outrageous by any means…

I sat at the table with the ladies (six of them)…over the years have learned my proper place in settings such as these….speak when spoken too…and to always agree with whatever the girls say….lunch as well as life seems to flow smoother when one obeys these two simple guidelines…

My little buzzer thingy went off and I got up and got my food….it was a pretty burger….anytime hamburger and bbq can be combined….well the Mona Lisa has got nothing on that….

I sat back down and dug in…what was very clear right off the bat was that this was gonna be messy….real messy….and at this point I had to make a decision….to just enjoy and be as messy and sloppy as I could to get 100% burger fulfillment…or to make The Wife proud (or at least not embarrassed) and actually wipe my mouth and hands every once in a while….it took about nine napkins….there was chopped beef and sauce all over the place….had I  not really worked at it….I would have lost my Fat Joe nickname and become…..Pig Boy….but I stayed as clean as possible and I don’t think I got anything on anyone besides myself…

It was a very good burger….I love the sourdough bread and while not a big onion guy, the onion in the bun added a sweet onion taste…the meat was juicy and cooked perfectly….the chopped beef was tender and the bbq sauce added a very nice sweet/smokey taste….I like messy and this did not disappoint….messy and tasty….what more could you want??

The sweet potato fries were very good….Slowly but surely I am finding myself more and more drawn to the sweet potato….not because its suppose to be better for you…(for any guy named Fat….good  nutrition is way way way down on the list of things that….well….matter)…..one of the girls offered me a regular fry to try out….it was very good too…

On my way out I ordered a cookies-n-cream shake and I must say it topped off a very good burger meal….

When I got back to our wonderful day of “Trading-off” and told people where we had eaten….I got a mixed review of opinions….none that were damning….but more than one saying “they’re just ok”….

Now I’ve only been there once…..but I liked it….a top 10 burger??? Well maybe not that….but not too far down the list…

I liked it enough to say I’ll go back….with or without….the girls….

Sorry no picture….

http://www.huskysfood.com/

Categories: BURGERS Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

