Home > BBQ, FJSBBQT > A TALE OF TWO BBQ’S…

A TALE OF TWO BBQ’S…

It’s funny how on the same day in the very same spot….two people can sorta get the the same thing and have two different reactions…

That was the case on stop number three in the FJSBBQT….

I was meeting three buddies for lunch…two of whom you’ve met before….Bubba & Shawn….and a new arrival…D.  (I’m guessing on the spelling here)…We were congregating at Hyde’s Cafe….this is the little joint (and joint is what this is) in Old Town Spring that makes one of the best just plain-ol’  cheeseburgers anywhere….So this is their second blogging to date….(how fortunate for them)…

I love Hyde’s….I eat there at least once a month and will go as often as I can get there…not only is it close to the house….but it always delivers on whatever you order….the cheeseburger is wonderful, the chicken fried steak (either plate or sandwich) is great, the chili-cheeseburger is yummy, they have great fries, onion rings and the atmosphere is just your basic down-home Texas styled joint…

Since the summer tour is in full swing….I was going to order accordingly…I’ve had their BBQ plate before…sliced beef and sausage….both are gooooooooooooooood……the meat is tender….,melt in your mouth tender….the home-made sauce is a Carolina based ….mild but is a very complimentary on the meat….

Today I was going a little on the cheapo side and went with the sliced beef sandwich….I added fries and a drink and was set (@ $9.50)…,Shawn got the same thing…a man of good tastes….what is it they say about great minds….maybe I stretch things a bit….he and I sat and about that time in walked Bubba and D….now there was another group of guys meeting there, some sort of car club….and where Shawn  and I had been the very first in line….Bubba and D…were….for lack of a better phrase….sucking hind-tit…(keeping with the Piggies theme…)…

Hyde's Cafe Danglicious Sliced Beef Sam-which

Shawn and I got our lunches pretty quickly….Hyde’s prides themselves on not being Micky-D’s and so you get your food when you get it….and if you want to complain about their serving speed….well….don’t let the door hit you on the way out…somethings are just worth waiting for….and Hyde’s food is one of them….

The sliced beef sandwich comes with bun, meat, onions, pickles and a little sauce….Shawn got up to get some more sauce and I asked him to do the same for me…by this time Bubba and D had ordered and were sitting with us at the table….they both got the BBQ’d baked potato….a baked potato stuffed with the usual baked potato stuff and then bbq’d chopped beef mixed in…

Shawn got back with the extra sauce and I poured that on my sliced beef….

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh baby….the meat is so tender….smoked to perfection, with a nice bark and even without the sauce it is good….the buns are fresh and toasted and when you put bun, meat, onions, pickles and sauce all together you have a pretty danglicious sandwich….I dug in and half-hearted listened to the conversation as I demolished the sliced beef….their fries are always perfect and I never seem to have enough….(not that the portion is not what it should be….but they’re sooo good I always want more…)

Needless to say….I enjoyed….

Now to the “less than memorable” part of lunch….Bubba and D got their stuffed potatoes and began to smush the fixins’ into the potato….as they began to eat they both looked at each other and sorta shrugged….most of the people I eat with now know about the blog and like to give their thoughts as to what they’re eating….well both Bubba and D had an opinion….”less than memoriable”….not enough fixins’ and a little on the dry side….two of the same opinion would shy me away from ever ordering this…

Less Than Memorable...

I guess nobody does everything perfectly…and in this case….I guess I’ve finally found Hyde’s kryptonite….

I am going to give two ratings on Hyde’s….

On the sliced beefs sandwich and bbq plate…..4 Piggies….

On the bbq baked potatoe….2 Piggies

Hyde’s is still and will always be one of Fat Joe’s fave joints….but I now know the one thing….I won’t order…..

http://oldtownspringonline.com/hydesAD.htm

Categories: BBQ, FJSBBQT Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

