Home > BBQ, FJSBBQT > BBQ, BOUDIN & NANNER-PUDDIN’

BBQ, BOUDIN & NANNER-PUDDIN’

A Holy Trinity??

I won’t go that far…but it is a danglicious trio….

Tuesday dawned and I was gearing up for stop #5 in the FJSBBQT….on my way back from Junior’s Smokehouse yesterday I spotted #5…Hwy 290 at exit 362….Waller County Line BBQ…it is attached to a Shell gas station….there’s something almost mystical about gas station bbq…

Gas Station BBQ....Alway Magical...

I made my way back down 2920 from Spring….the day was a little overcast so the temp wasn’t quite at the usual 1000 degrees….and it even sprinkled a little (a very little) off and on during my drive…I use to dread that stretch of roadway….when The Wife and I would drive back from Round Rock/Austin and would finally make it to 2920….we could almost taste home but…..it seemed that the road was an endless winding black top  through open fields, little stores and well, not much else….we  finally got to Tomball and thought….geeez….halfway home….uuugh….but now I find it the roadway leading me to bbq delights…..so….I guess it’s all in your perspective….ain’t it??

I got to the 290 turn off and headed west…it was only about a mile or so and I eased off the hwy and onto exit 362….made the left turn under the overpass and into the parking lot of WCL BBQ…it’s a big spread….you can see and smell the smokin’ right in the front of the store…the smoke pits are in a little shack that has a constant stream of smokey goodness billowing from out of the top…the bbq joint is attached to the gas station and you enter the door in the front…there is the usual gas station stuff…..and then you see the large display case  where the magic is kept….

The case is long and there are stacks of home-made individually packaged pieces of pie….the menu is a lettered board above the case and the choices and prices are about what you would expect…there was one little difference….and Moma would have been smilin’ from ear to ear….a sign states….”We now offer mild or spicy boudin”…..my Moma’s Louisianan blood that flows within me….was doing a little fireworks explosions throughout my body…..bbq & boudin….the BBQ Gods, perched on high, tending their smoke pits, had truely smiled on me this day….

I went with the usual two meat combo….you guessed it….brisket & sausage….my two sides were going to be potato salad and cole slaw…and my hand trembled as I picked a spicy boudin from the bin and added it to my order….the bbq plate was about $10 and the boudin was $5.50ish….so with a drink the meal was about $17.50….

Two Meat Combo w/Spicy Boudin....Doin' Moma Proud

The two women working behind the case were very nice and seemed to enjoy serving their foods…they serve you while you wait and ask about pickles, onions, bread and sauce….I went with the pickles, bread and asked if I could have some of both of their sauces…..regular and spicy…I took my tray and paid at the same counter you pay for your gas….

I took my seat and started by tasting the two sauces….its a Carolina based (vinegar) sauce….I really liked the spicy….and ended up just using it on my meat…I cut into the brisket and its so tender it just crumbles under your fork…there was no bark but it’s very tasty and I enjoyed ever bite…..the sausage was very good too….spiced well and juicy….with Junior’s just down the road….these people have the better sausage….

I then tried the potato salad and found it very solid…..its mustard based and had a very nice flavor….the cole slaw was good….creamy and again the taste was nice…

And now for the boudin…tears welled up in my eyes as I remembered Moma serving this coonass delicacy on those warm summer nights in good ol’ Port Arthur….I took the first bite and thought maybe I had gotten the mild by mistake….it took a few seconds….but the kick arrived….ohhhh yeah….it rode with guns a-blazzin’….

Between the spicy boudin and spicy sauce…I’m here to tell you Sha’….my nose ran and ran and ran….

I really enjoyed my meal….the meat is smoked and tender, the sauce was very good…..and the boudin was….dare I say??? Danglicious...

I really intended to end things with the last fork full of brisket, mixed with boudin and spicy sauce….but I could hear a little voice calling me from the cold case that had cups of nanner-puddin and cartons of pie….I forced myself to the case….picked out that special cup of puddin’ from the rotating shelf and paid my $2.50….

This was goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood nanner-puddin’…..lots of creamy yellow nanner stuff and nilla waffers….they even crush some of the waffers to create crumbly goodness throughout the puddin’…

WCL's Magic Workshop

I’m giving Waller County Line BBQ 4.5 Piggies….

Juniors was good….but this is a lot better….so stop and enjoy the Holy Trinity….oooops….sorry….I’ll ask for forgiveness….later…

Categories: BBQ, FJSBBQT Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

