Home > BEST OF THE REST > A BREAK FROM THE BBQ….

A BREAK FROM THE BBQ….

Far be it from me to say I need a break from the FJSBBQT….I don’t….

But today I did try something I’ve wanted to try for some time now…

Recently a Furr’s Cafeteria/Buffet opened near the house…I’m all for trying most new things….The Wife on the other hand is not one for buffets….not sure where that comes from….”All You Can Eat”….always sounds pretty good to me….but, Furr’s was something I would need to try when she was out of town…..well she is….and so I did….

I found it to be pretty good….I started with the salad bar….everything seemed fresh and there was lots to choose from….(I wanted a little something “healthy”….)

I then went back for the main course….I stuck with all meat choices….here is a listing….

*Buffalo Wings – pretty good….just your standard sauce…

*Fried Chicken – again it was pretty good….however, The Wife’s got nothing to worry about with her fried chicken….

*Catfish – kinda bland…..not bad….but not….much of anything…

*Roast Beef – nice pepper flavor but a bit fatty…..I had as much fat as I had meat…

* Chicken Fried Steak – don’t bother…..not a bad cut of meat….but the breading is blahhhhh…..gravy….so-so….

* Cornbread – Granny’s was better

* Rolls- very nice….

I didn’t try anything else….their desert bar looked like there was a lot there….in the grill area (where I got the Roast Beef) they had sirloin and a few other things….I guess they will cook to your order…..

To sum this one up…..I’d say Furr’s was ok….kinda high for the quality (not quantity)…..the dinner buffet w/drink was about $14.00…the lunch price was about $2.00 cheaper…there is tons of food to choose from….but it is what it is….massive quanties usually do not translate into wonderful tasty food….

I will probably go back at some other time…maybe stick with the lunch…..

I can hear The Wife….”I told you so….”

Luv u 2 Babe….

http://www.furrs.net/aboutus_news.cfm

Categories: BEST OF THE REST Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment