Home > BBQ, FJSBBQT > DICKEY’S DOES POLISH SAUSAGE….DANGLICIOUSLY

DICKEY’S DOES POLISH SAUSAGE….DANGLICIOUSLY

This is stop number seven on the FJSBBQT…

I’ve recently found a new website Texas Monthly BBQ….it has a great listing of Texas BBQ Joints….if you use the IPAD app it will actually give you the mileage between your place and the resturanat….it also give reviews and you can add your own two cents for all the places you go….

One of the listings was for Dickey’s BBQ Pit in The Woodlands….

Dickey's BBQ Pit....The Woodlands

I left the house about 11am and headed up I45 to the Woodlands Pkwy exit…Dickey’s is at Woodlands Pkwy and Kuykendahl (10700 Kuykendahl)…it’s in a strip center….I walked in and found it cafeteria style….you pick up a tray, order your meat, pick out your sides and make your way to the cashier….what is really cool is that they cut your meat for you as you watch and then the sides are all laid out and you can see before you choose….(kinda like Spring Creek BBQ)…

As I looked at the order board I was going for my usual two meat combo…but then was surprised to see the three meat combo was only $1.00 more….so what the heck….I ordered sliced brisket, pulled pork and what ended up being the star for me….the Polish sausage…I made my way to the sides and they have a couple of unique selections….I went with baked potato casserole and cole slaw….you also get a yeast roll with your order….

Three Meat Combo - $10.99

I got my sauce on my meat (a little change of pace)….and made my way to a booth….I picked up some pickles and extra sauce from the fixen’s bar….they offer three sauces: hot, mild & sweet….I asume they sauced my meat with the mild…..so I picked up some hot and sweet….

I started with the pulled pork and of the three meats this was my least favorite….it was tender, but without sauce it was pretty plain…I liked the sweet sauce with the pulled pork…

I then moved into the Polish sausage and….W O W….it was delicious….tender, juicy and spiced to perfection….all by itself it was incredible….but dipped in the hot sauce it was out of this world…explosions of flavor all up in my mouth…..I think this is one of the top meats I’ve had so far this summer…

The sliced brisket was good….tender and smokey….I enjoyed the hot sauce on this too…

I really liked the baked potato casserole…was like a great baked potato with all the fixin’s mashed up…..kinda taking out the self-mashing up stage…..a stage that is very over-rated in my opinion…..the slaw average….nothing special…..and the yeast roll was good dipped in either sauce….

I finished off with a piece of pecan pie….it was in a little container so I don’t know if it was home-made or not….but it was very good…

They also offer free soft serve ice cream…and kids eat free on Sundays….

I liked Dickey’s…I think its good solid bbq….and the Polish sausage is fantastic…..Dickey’s is better than Spring Creek….

FatJoe is giving Dickey’s BBQ Pit…3.5 Piggies….

Categories: BBQ, FJSBBQT
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

