Home > BBQ, FJSBBQT > BBQ’ING WITH BIG WILLIE AND MAMA MINDY…

BBQ’ING WITH BIG WILLIE AND MAMA MINDY…

Friday night brought dinner with The Big Willies….The Wife and I piled into their new suburban and headed to Humble…A friend of Mama Mindy’s had invited them to hear her husband’s band playing at this BBQ Joint in Atascocita…btw….Mama Mindy = Mrs. Big Willie…

TIN ROOF BBQ - ATASCOCITA

The place was  Tin Roof BBQ (18918 Town Ctr. Blvd.)…With Big Willie’s masterful navigations we found this joint and after parking we made our way inside….now the only draw back to this place is…..the ordering….it is a fairly big place…there is seating inside and out with a large playground area for the kiddies….the stage is outside and on this particular Friday Night Tin Roof BBQ was rather full….The Wife grabbed a large table and Big Willie and I waited inside in line to order….the line was doubled back on itself and the wait was about 20 minutes to make our way to the counter….as we made our way to order we had to keep sending Big E (that would be BWS’s son) out to the table to make sure we were getting exactly what the ladies wanted….there would be no coming back inside to get something else….this was gonna be…..get what you want the first time and get out…

The menu is on a board right before you get to the counter…there is lots to choose from…..there is bbq, burgers, sandwiches, spuds, sides, and a kiddie menu…everything has a name….so when you order you say “I want a Ranch-hand & a stuffed potato”….(translated….two meat combo & a baked potato with chopped bbq’d beef)….as crowded as it was ordering was tricky at best….now the people behind the counter were doing herculean work with getting everything you wanted and getting it straight…..Big Willie wanted something (don’t remember what it was) but was told it would be about 20 minutes before that would be available…so he went with something else…

THE RANCH-HAND....TWO MEAT COMBO ($13.99)...THE BARK'S PRETTY...ISN'T IT?

I got the Ranch-hand with brisket and sausage…for my two sides I got fried corn on the cob, and red russet potatoes….it was a little more pricey than I’m use to ($13.99) but they do fill your plate with meat….so you do get what you pay for….I got The Wife’s stuffed potato and grabbed a couple cobblers and my tray was heavy….to say the least….with my drink cups tucked under my arm I made my way to the table….after delivering our food I went back for the drinks and The Wife got us some sauce….Tin Roof claims to  have “World Famous Sauce”…..big claim…..(but every joint in Texas has “World Famous” or “The Best In Texas”, something)…

We finally got to dig in….and as we began to eat the band began to play….sorry I don’t know the name of the band but Jason was the guy we were there to hear….and they were good….lots of old honky-tonk music goes wonderfully with good bbq…..and this was good bbq…

THE WIFE'S STUFFED POTATO ($7.49)

I started with the brisket…..great smoke…..great bark (I love me some bark)…..bark is the dark hard crusty part of the meat…..it is usually the top layer on the meat…..under the bark the meat was tender, juicy and full of flavor…..

I then went to the sausage….again it was full of smokey flavor and spice….

The sauce was good…..”World Famous”….not so sure about that but it was a very good tomato based sauce….(Texas  styled sauce is tomato based)…..Maybe they have won a contest of world famous sauces….you got me…..

The sides were very good too….the fried corn on the cob was delicious…and the red russet potatoes had a nice buttery taste….it was funny….Little P (that would be BWS’s little girl) was amazed at how long her french fries were…..and as she picked up each one of them she would show it off to the table…..they were some dang-long fries….

The bread was just plain old slices of white bread (but to be honest that’s what the original bbq came with….so it’s traditional to serve it that way)…

The cobbler was good….not “knock-your-socks-off” good…..but good…..I had the blueberry and The Wife had the peach…..BWS had a huge pice of cake……

After dinner we sat and enjoyed the music and a couple of …..well….let’s just call them “Texas Ice Teas”….I met some fellow Cheeseheads….(BTW….FatJoe is a big Packer fan)…..there is a club that meets out in Humble for the games…..I will be joining them this next year…..if we end up actually having football….

All in all we had a nice time at Tin Roof BBQ….the food was priced  higher than usual for me….but there was lots of meat (I actually brought home a to-go box….and I never do that)……the bbq is good…..the sauce was good…..and its a fun place to sit and enjoy and Texas summer evening with friends….

I’m giving Tin Roof BBQ ….4 Piggies…..

Categories: BBQ, FJSBBQT Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

