Home > BEST OF THE REST, BREAKFAST > TACO….SHELLED

TACO….SHELLED

Sometimes you just happen on to something that ends up being a nice surprise…

I was on my way back from Walmart  one morning last week and stopped for gas….

There is a Shell station at 5035 FM 2920….near Rhodes Road…..

I got my gas and stepped inside to get a cup of coffee….Shell stations usually have pretty good coffee….

As I stepped inside I noticed a counter that served food….I had no intentions of eating as I was going to have a big BBQ lunch….

But…

BREAKFAST TACO FROM SHELL GAS STATION - $1.59

It smelled wonderful….and the price was right….Breakfast Tacos $1.59…

I couldn’t fight the urge…so I stepped up and smiled at the lady behind the counter….she asked what I wanted and I ordered the chorizo, egg and cheese taco…she asked if I wanted beans, pico de gallo, and sauce…..I said, “Yup”….but had a choice on the sauce….red or green….I asked her which one she liked best and she said the green was the best…..so….that’s how I rolled…..

I was being a very good boy and only ordered one…..and I waited ’till I got home to rip into the foil and eat my (as we would say in Port Arthur…..) Brefess-Taco…

My Brefess-Taco was sooooooo good….the flour tortilla was fresh and warm, the chorizo spicy, and the fixens’ were delicious…..

So…..once again…the gas station food seems to be the way to go….now….like many of you I have had many a midnight microwave burrito from a convenience/gas station….and while there ain’t nuttin’ wrong with eating things in a plastic wrap that are heated up in a couple minutes….that’s not what I’m talking about….a lot of these fueling spots have counter food….and for the most part….it’s very good food…probably not good for you…..but then again….a lot of good eats ain’t good for you…

Let’s don’t be so full of ourselves that we can’t take a shot every once in a while on something that may not be normal…food from a gas station is probably not  on your list of normal places to eat…..but….you never….ever….know….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

