Home > BEST OF THE REST > WITH A NAME LIKE FAT MIKE’S….WHAT’S NOT TO LIKE?

WITH A NAME LIKE FAT MIKE’S….WHAT’S NOT TO LIKE?

We had driven by Fat Mike’s….I don’t know how many times….and everytime we said the exact same thing….”We’ve gotta to try that place…..”

I mean…..FatJoe…..Fat Mike’s….surely a match made in Heaven….

So….after a few months of this little game of  “We gotta……” we just turned into the parking lot and had taken the first step in finding……a new FatJoe Fave….

A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME...

The sign outside brags on theirTexas Comfort Food…..and as we got inside we found it an interesting place….very down-homey-Texas-styled…..with large paintings (charactures) of famous folk on the walls…..love the one of Uncle Willie Nelson….there is a large bar area with tables and then the big main dining area….lots-o-seating….

Now I had done some reasearch before we stopped in….and from everything I read was that the food was outstanding but that at times the service could be…..rather……s….l….o……w……(slow)….I try not to judge too much on what I read…..so I was open minded as we were shown our seats and ordered our drinks….

To say the menu is varried is an understatement….everything from some unusal appetizers…..to…..burgers…..to bbq….to some of what Moma use to make for her little FatJoe-Joe….

Having just finished up a summer of bbq and burgers I was in the mood to try something from the Moma’s things side of the menu…..I was torn between the Chicken Fried Chicken and the Meatloaf…..now I had sorta looked at the Chicken Fried Steak which is made with Rib Eye…..but I kinda got the slight head shake from The Wife…..maybe me having a coranary wasn’t on her list of things to do on a friday night….

So I went with the Meatloaf and she went with the Chicken Fried Chicken….they both come with two sides…..I went with the Baked Beans and  Smashed Taters…..The Wife with Mac-n-Cheese and Sweet Tater Caserole….we also decided on some Fried Mac-n-Cheese…..comes wrapped in Bacon……nuff said…..

BACON WRAPPED.....WHAT ELSE YOU NEED TO KNOW?

So….the service was on the clock…..and our waitress, who I think will be our waitress of choice, was named Emily…..and I must say our Fried Mac-n-Cheese was out pretty quick….and I must say I enjoyed it….

After polishing off the FMNC we got our meals…..again….service was no slower or faster than normal….

My meatloaf looked delicious….covered in gravy (made with Shiner Bock) and wanna guess what sat across the top????  If you guessed bacon….give yourself a gold star….it was tender and juicy…. the flavor from the meat and gravy and bacon….was wonderful….i enjoyed each and every bite….

MEATLOAF.....SHINER BOCK.....BACON.....

The smashed taters were very good too….covered in the same gravy….

I’m not much of a baked beans kinda guy….but these were very good….I believe they are done on the bbq pit….so the flavor from the smoke and smokin’ meats meld their way into the beans…..

Now the wife’s Chicken Fried Chicken….was good….not great….and believe it or not…..her Mac-n-Cheese was just ok…but the Sweet Tater Caserole was delicious….just like granny use to make…..sweet with pecans……yummy for your tummy….

THE WINNER HERE......SWEET TATER CASEROLE

I guess I was the winner on the nights order…..

Now Fat Mike’s isn’t a discount house….Entree’s range from $8 to $15…..for the two of us with appitizers and drinks….it was about $35…

We have been back twice since….once I got the Saturday Night Special….Fried Catfish….and the other time I got the bbq’d sausage….both were great….

Blogs for another time….

You gotta love Fat Guys…..right???

http://www.fatmikesonline.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

