Home > BURGERS > A SWEET SURPRISE AT STEAK-N-SHAKE

A SWEET SURPRISE AT STEAK-N-SHAKE

As a school teacher many of you can relate to those wonderful days right before the beginning of school spent in all those incredible meetings…..uh…..yeah….they be incredible all right….not so much…..

Even more than those fun-time meetings is the Professional Developement trainings that we must endure over the course of our so-called free-time summer….it was after one of these that I gave Steak-n- Shake a shot….

HEY FONZIE......

HEY FONZIE....

Armed with a coupon I made my way down FM 1960….after overshooting it…..I made a u-turn and pulled into the parking lot….inside I found it clean and wanting to remind you of an old timey burger joint….lots of bright chrome and neon….I sorta expected Richie, Potsy and Ralph to show up….but hey there’s nothing wrong with bringing back the “good-ol’ days”…..

I sat and perused the menu….my coupon was for a Burger, Shake and a couple of sides….so….when the girl asked what I wanted I pointed to the coupon and said….”This..but I’d like to add bacon and cheese….and for my sides I’ll have fries…..and ……uh…..well….how…..bout….some…..cole slaw…..”

Yes cole slaw…..after my summer of BBQ where I ate my weight in cole slaw…(no comments….on how that would be a lot of dang slaw)….I figured what the heck…..slaw is healthy for you…..right…..I mean there’s salad stuff in there…..and I’m all about healthy……

I rounded my order off with a Strawberry Shake….all the major food groups…..meat….cheese…..bacon…..bread…..fries….and then the salad stuff and strawberries in the shake…..Weight Watchers would have been proud….

My waitress brought my order out and it all looked delicious….I started with a little suck on the shake and found it creamy, rich and very strawberried….so…..the Shake part of Steak-n-Shake….is very good….

STRAWBERRY-LICIOUS

I then forked up some of the slaw…..and….fell in love….this was gooooood……daaaaaaang goooooood…….creamy (mayo-based) with a wonderful little sweet kick that hit me with every bite….after all the slaw I had had over the last few months I was amazed that none of those BBQ joints could not hold a candle to what I was eating in a burger chain…..

BBQ JOINTS AIN'T GOT NUTTIN' ON THIS STUFF

I was so impressed that the next time the waitress asked if I was ok…..I told her that I was indeed FatJoe…..I could tell she wanted to ask but was too intimidated to cross that line….(oh yeah…..I’m sure you buy that one…)….I did say that I loved the slaw……I told her I had had lots of slaw over the summer and I thought this was the best I had had…..

She giggled and said she had been the one to make it….I told her she had done very good….as I scarfed the last of it down…..I hadn’t touched my burger yet….sad to say….the star of this particular lunch had come and gone….

I picked up a fry…..they are like skinny fries……I’m not a big fan…..what’s wrong with a regular sized fry????…they tasted ok….not bad…..not anything to remember…..but too dang skinny…..next time I’ll either order onion rings or double up my slaw order….

I'VE HAD BETTER....AND SKINNY FRIES??

Now to the burger…..again….it wasn’t bad…..just not what I would call…..great….the meat is juicy and flavored…..but just not anything to make you wanna marry it…..in my feeble opinion….there are too many great burgers in our area to make this a regular stop on the FatJoe circut…..I’ll wait for another coupon….

So, what did we learn boys and girls……great shakes…..wonderful slaw……suckie-skinny fries…..and an un- memorable burger…..

http://www.steaknshake.com/mobile/menu/

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

