Home > BEST OF THE REST > FAT MIKES BRINGS IT AGAIN….

FAT MIKES BRINGS IT AGAIN….

It’s nice to be getting back to blogging…..the last few weeks since we got back from Hawaii have been crazy….at best….computer goes out….we switch internet providers….school started…….and was sick……and that was just the Monday after we got back…..haha….

Fat Mikes has become one of my new favorite places….The Wife has told me it’s “Our” place and I cannot go there without her….we’ll see….how that works out….

Kerville Dad-n-Law was in town as well as The Sis-n-Law….so as a treat for them and for me……we decided to take them to FM’s……if The Wife has a rule….by golly I’m gonna hit her up for it at every chance…..

We went on a Saturday Night and walked in and saw the special board…..Fried Catfish…..we all know how much FatJoe loves catfish…..if you can remember back to the Tailgate Grill out in Rose Hill…..I can still taste that lightly fried delight…..so…..I was gonna give Fat Mike a shot……

GREAT FRIED CATFISH AND WONDERFUL SWEET TATER CASSEROLE

We all sat and began to look over the menu…..Kerville Dad-n-Law went with me and opted for the catfish…..The Wife went with a sampler platter (which included sliders) and The Sis-n-Law picked a BBQ stuffed baked tater……

We ordered some onion rings to tide us over till the real food showed up…..and I must say….while onion rings aren’t my fave……these were really good……light and crispy……we finished ’em off with time to spare…..

The fish showed up and to say there was a lot on the plate…..and those are a few of my favorite words……lot on the plate

My sides were….the wonderful Sweet Tater casserole and fries…..

As I sat in wonderment looking at the bounty before me……my compadres began feasting on their own plates…..The Sis-n-Law’s stuffed tater was huge…..and filled with some nice chopped brisket…..she did have to ask for more sauce…..but…..life ain’t perfect….The Wife’s Sampler Platter looked good too…..the sliders (one of which would find its way to my big mouth) looked and as it turned out…..were very tasty…..

Now to the Fish…..if I’m saying the Tailgate’s Fried Catfish is pretty dang close to perfect…..then Fat Mike’s is pretty dang close to pretty dang close to perfect…..I’d still give the Tailgate the edge…..but that’s about it……an edge…..both are lightly battered and lightly fried…..no fishy taste to be found…..and both have nice portions……The Tailgate has one big piece of fish while Fat Mikes gives you three or four good sized pieces…..both will fill you up……

I guess I’ll have to get Mama to do a taste test between the two…..she is…..the Louisianna Catfish Queen…..those old days back in the bayous of La have made her an expert on Catfish…..(love you too….Mama)….

Another shot outta da park for Fat Mikes…..

http://www.fatmikesonline.com/

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

