Home > BURGERS > I CAME….I ATE….I CONQUERED….

I CAME….I ATE….I CONQUERED….

In my own little Man vs. Food moment….I faced down the 1690 calorie Mac-n-Cheese Big Daddy Patty Melt from Denny’s and on this day……Man kicked some cheesy hiney….

After a little trip to the mall we made our way to the Denny’s at the corner of I45 and CypressWood…..it was lunch time so it was rather busy….so we waited a few moments to get our table….the wait wasn’t too bad and as we sat down….I was looking for the “Let’s Get Cheesy” menu…..we didn’t have one…..I panicked…..was I mistaken about when they were going to do this promotion….or maybe every Denny’s wasn’t participating….The Wife gave me a look like….ok…..where’s this big sandwich??

When our waitress showed up to take our drink orders….I wiped the sweat from my upper lip and asked…..about the cheesy menu….I held my breath as she finally said….she’d be happy to find us one…..

Whew……….life was smilin’ on my big behind today!!!!

I just checked the menu to see if the Big Daddy was really there…..it was…..so, with my mind at ease, I began to focus and center my being with positive mojo……I would have to call on all my FatJoe Jedi powers to defeat the sandwich from the dark side…..

We ordered and the waitress sorta chuckled when I ordered Diet Coke to go with my meal…..hey….you have to cut corners somewhere….right???

We had to wait for a while ….I guess they were cooking each calorie individually…..but they finally showed up with our food….

YOU DON'T LOOK SO BAD....

At first blush I was not overly impressed with the Big Daddy….it looked like a normal patty melt….a buger sandwiched between to pieces of toast with some cheese running out….I cut my light saber down to half power and looked over at The Wife…..shucks this was going to be easier than blasting Womp-Rats in my T-16……

The Wife shrugged….guess she wasn’t up on blasting Womp-Rats….

I took my first bite and despite what I had read…..I thought it was pretty good….the toast was crunchy and buttery……the mac-n-cheese worked well with the burger…..now….was it a great piece of meat???……no, I’ve had better…..many times better……but…..for what this was…..I thought it had a good taste….the cheese was very tasty and the pasta didn’t over-bear the other ingredients….it all worked together and taken on the whole……I liked it…..

THERE IS NO TRY.....THERE IS DO.....OR......DO NOT....

As stated in my previous blog…..someone suggested that some bacon would have made this a much better sandwich…..well, la-tee-da……what sandwich wouldn’t be better with bacon????  well maybe peanut butter and bologna doesn’t need anything else……but yeah….a slab of bacon would have added to the Big Daddy….

The sandwich is cut in half and I didn’t have any problems stuffing down the first half….The Wife asked how I was doing and I thought to myself…..if the rebels had had it this easy against the Empire…..we wouldn’t have needed but one Star Wars movie…..

As I began the second half of the Big Daddy…..I did begin to slow down a little…..I guess 1690 calories…..no matter what they look like are 1690 calories…..and considering there was an order of fries with it…..I was feeling…..like the Empire might indeed Strike Back….but like Luke, Obi-Wan, & Yoda, I called on my inner Force and plowed on through…..

The Wife said….”You know you don’t have to eat it all”…..now what would have happened if Luke had stopped before the Empire had been defeated????

And on this day……Man conquered food……Luke whipped Darth Vader……and FatJoe was dancing a victory dance over an empty plate….now the waitress did ask me to stop dancing…….but non-the-less……the battle was over…..and I was going home a True Jedi Knight….

EASIER THAT BLASTIN' WOMP-RATS....

So, would I do this again……I doubt it…..I’m sure those who climb mountains feel the same way……once you’ve conquered the mountain…..you get ready to move on to the next mountain……

But…..it’s a pretty good sandwich……I did enjoy it……and if you have 1690 calories to spend……then I’d say go for it……

You’ll need to listen to that little FatJoe voice in your head…..”The Force will be with  you….always”…….

http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Womp_rat

Categories: BURGERS Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

