Home > BBQ > BIRTHDAY BBQ TOUR….

BIRTHDAY BBQ TOUR….

Ok….I’m looking down the barrel at big number 51….The Sister’s Hubby…..”BIG BARRY” has an idea of counting backwards when you hit 50…..so actually I guess I could be 50 again and then next year I’d be looking at 49……and so on….

I guess if you get back to 0…..you did pretty dang good….

The Wife asked what I wanted to do for the big day….and in a moment of pure genius……I came up with the perfect way to spend my special day(s)…..well….The Wife gets a Birthday Month…..so…..I can’t have a long weekend????

I never made it to the Lockhart-Luling part of the Summer BBQ Tour…..so…..who says it has to be summer time to eat some “Q”??? 

I told  her I wanted a weekend of BBQ right in the middle of the Texas BBQ Trail…..(Luling, Lockhart, Elgin, & Taylor)….

She got busy and found out that San Marcos (yeah the one with the big outlet mall) is between Luling and Lockhart….I guess we can shop in between mouthfuls of brisket, sausage and ribs….

So….here’s my delima……I can probably squeeze 4 BBQ meals out of this little trip…..but there are 5 joints worth checking out….

Luling: City Market, Luling BBQ

Lockhart: Kreuz, Smitty’s, Chisholm Trail

Now Black’s BBQ is in Lockhart too….but I’ve eaten there…..

City Market, Smitty’s, & The Chisholm Trail are locks…..the toss up is between Luling BBQ and Kreuz…..I’m leaning towards Kreuz…..its a Texas legend…..but its very  unique…..no sauce….no forks….and it’s German Based BBQ….lots of pepper… they’re not the friendliest bunch in the state…..and people either love the BBQ or hate it…..

Any one have an opinion between these two???

Help a FatGuy out…..

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

