Home > BBQ > IT’LL DO IN A PINCH…

IT’LL DO IN A PINCH…

After figuring out what I wanted for my birthday (the Texas Legends Birthday BBQ Tour) I began strategizing my “Meals-Plan” ….deciding what 4-5 BBQ joints I want to include in my long weekend….

I spent a couple of days mulling over the possiblilites…..by Wednesday……I had worked myself into a BBQ frenzy……I needed some Q…..and I needed it bad….

But where was I gonna get my fix???

I decided on what I consider good solid BBQ….it’s not the greatest but it’s good enough that when you need some…..you can count on it satisfying that craving…..

Rudy’s….(I45 & Louetta)

It’s pretty good BBQ and it’s close to the house….so…..I pulled in and got in line…..I’ll give Rudy’s this…..they’re always busy…..I stood in line for about 10 minutes and even after dividing my time staring at the menu board and looking at what people were ordering…..I stuck with my usual choices…..1/2 lb. of moist brisket, 1/2 link of regular sausage and /2 link of jalapeno sausage…I for-went(?) the sides on this night…

I got it to go and the good thing about that…..is that my car would smell like BBQ for a day or two….

My dogs met me at the door….not sure if it was the fact I was finally home or the fact that I had a pound and half of meat with me…..I’ll kid myself and conclude it was the fact that FatJoe was home that made them soooooo happy….

I unwrapped and plated my dinner and sat in front of the TV to enjoy ……FatJoe is nothing if he isn’t old school…..so….I DVR episodes of Match Game from the Game Show Network…..so on this particular night I would enjoy my Q with Gene Rayburn, Richard Dawson, Brett Summers, and Charles Nelson Riley…..if you’ve never seen Match Game…..your life is really incomplete…..it has everything ’70’s wrapped up in a 30 minute game show….

As the first “Dumb Dorra” questions left Mr. Rayburns lips…..some of Rudy’s moist brisket entered through my lips…..

SOLID Q....BUT SAUSE MAKES IT ALL GOOD

Rudy’s brisket…..well…..let’s see…..it sort of goes from really moist to really not…..it does have a nice bark (the black crusty layer on top) and it’s got some good fat…..but there are slices that seem to dry out…..not sure how that same moist brisket shares the same space with that dry stuff…..but it does…..should be listed as one of the Universe’s Great Mysteries….

However, there is a cure for this and it’s Rudy’s sauce….either one…..the “Sissy Sause…or….the “Original Sause”…..(their spelling)….before we had a Rudy’s in our neighborhood we would stop at the Original Rudy’s on the way to San Antonio….it was in a Shell Gas Station and we would stop…..eat….and grab a bottle of “Sause” or two…..I love Rudy’s sause…… a vinegar based sause…..the “Sissy” has a little spice kick and the “Original” makes your taste buds do a Texas Two-Step….

So, I can say I enjoyed most of my brisket by dunking it deep into the sause…..

The sausage, on the other hand, is quite good…..and I can’t pick between the regular or jalapeno as to which I like better…they both have a great snap…..great texture…..and most importantly…..great taste…..I will tell you that the jalapeno dunked in the “Original Sause” will provide some delightful heat from the time it touches your mouth to the time it settles in your tummy…..

What made this outing even better was the fact that I had some leftovers…..and on Thursday night was able to make a sam-wich that should be featured on some sort of Food Network Show…..one slice of potato bread smeared with “Sissy” and the other smeared with “Original” (always smart to ask for extras)…..and then the leftover brisket and sausage nestled between….it brought tears to my eyes….litterally…..and made my nose run……so…..I really liked it……

Rudy’s won’t ever be lumped in with the other Texas BBQ Legends….it is good solid Q…..it calmed my BBQ Jones for a while at least….

http://www.rudys.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

