Home > BURGERS > TREATIN’ THE WIFE ON A SATURDAY NIGHT…

TREATIN’ THE WIFE ON A SATURDAY NIGHT…

Well….big time on a Saturday Night…The Wife deserves a night out every once-n-a-while….so….FatJoe is nothing if he isn’t a romantic dawg….so….The Luckiest Gal In Texas and I headed for…..the Big Lights of…….Tomball….

I had been braggin about how good the Country Bumpkins was that The Wife just couldn’t stand it any more….I had to take her….

So…..off we went….it’s about a 30 minute drive down 2920 to Telge Road….we listened to the end of the 3rd quarter and beginning of the 4th quarter of the Baylor/Kansas St. game…we pulled into the gravel parking lot of the Bumpkins and being a Bear myself, I left the car with good feelings about a 9 point lead for the Good Ol’ Baylor Line….you’d think I’d learn after 30 years…..it’s Baylor….the kings of finding a way to loose….oh well….what’cha gonna do?

Nuff of that…on to the meal…..

It was only my 2nd trip to the Country Bumpkins so I went with what I’d had before…..The Bumpkin Burger….a cheese burger with brisket piled on top…..a wonderfully danglicious combo….the best of 2 of my favorite worlds…..burgers and BBQ…..The Wife studied the menu and went with a BBQ Baked Potato….she was told it would take about 20 minutes….soooooo……she changed her mind and went with a Chicken Fried Steak Sandwich…..I went with fries….she with onion rings…

We found a table….we were the only one’s there at the time…..we sat our drinks down and waited….seeing that there was a checker board-table and The Wife, wanting the full experience of a Wild Saturday Night, challenged me to a game….in the legends of Wife vs. Hubby checker games….this was epic…..no…not really…..I spanked her pretty good…..Man vs Woman……and again Man…..oops…did I say that out loud??

They called us to pick up our food and since I was still glowing in the aftermath of my victory The Wife went and grabbed our baskets…the BBQ’d Brisket on my Cheese Burger smelled incredible…..and looked even better….it was wrapped in foil and I was to discover later it should stay wrapped in foil….

MR. CHEESE BURGER MEET MR. BRISKET...

The Wife’s CFS Sandwich looked good too…..I offered her a bite of mine….hoping I would get to taste her’s…..

DIAMONDS ARE A GIRL'S BEST FRIEND.....REALLY?

The Bumpkin Burger is everything I remembered and more…..the first bite brings to your mouth the fresh bun, the brisket, the cheese, the burger, and all the fixens’…..a flavor party started in my mouth…..and with each new bite the party got better and better….at one point I did try to take it out of the foil……not so smart……with all that flavor-juice it was a very wet mess….now there’s nothing wrong with that…..just not the most efficient way to eat it…..I was shoveling sloppy pieces of bun,brisket and cheeseburger into my maw…..finger licken’ great…..I’m sure, had we been in a fancier joint……say…..The Tail Gate Grill…..I would have gotten The Look……but The Wife just shook her head…..and let me enjoy…..

MESS OF THE BURGER GODS....

At some point we traded bites….and she said she thought the Bumpkin Burger was very good…..I enjoyed the taste I got from her CFS Sandwich….a nice piece of pounded steak covered in a flavorful batter…..I would order that on a return trip….

My fries were good…..but I’ll have to say that neither one of us cared for the onion rings….not sure what it was…..but they just weren’t up to the rest of our meal….I heard Guru Guy say once that the way to tell a good onion ring is that when you bite into it the onion does not slide out of the ring….well my first bite brought the onion clear out of the ring….maybe it was that it was still hot…..but I didn’t like ’em very much….

We ordered cobbler and nanner’ puddin’ to go….and both were deeeeeeeeeeeeeeee-licious……I still think the best nanner’ puddin’ I’ve had in a long time was at the Waller County Line BBQ…..but the Bumpkins’ was pretty dang good……

So….if you were to ask The Wife about her Saturday Night…..I think she’d tell you that once again….FatJoe came through…..my romantic side was on display for all to see…..a night she won’t forget anytime soon….

And except for the Bears loosing by one dang point…..it was a wonderful evening…….

NO WEBSITE FOR THE COUNTRY BUMPKINS…..but you can bing or google it and see some other reviews…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

