Home > BEST OF THE REST > LIONS, COUPONS, & SAUCE….OH MY

LIONS, COUPONS, & SAUCE….OH MY

It was Friday night and The Wife and I found ourselves alone for the evening….I had just gotten in from football practice….yes, FatJoe is now coaching 8th grade football….I guess we’ll call it coaching……but I digress…..home from practice and it was time to decide what to eat for that all important Friday night meal….

The Wife had a coupon for Lasagna House…..so the decision was made…..

We made our way to the Lasagna House III at the corner of I45 and FM 1960….as we got inside we were greeted by a young man who led us to our table….

Now, we’ve covered the coupon…..I think you can see where the sauce is coming from…..here’s where the Lions come into play…..I was wearing my Friday Packers shirt…..I’ve worn this shirt every Friday since the season began….the Packers are 5-0 and I know the biggest part of their winning streak is me and my shirt…..so, as we walked in, me in all my Green Bay Glory, the young man showing us our seats commented on my shirt…..”Great shirt”, he said with a smile……I gave a thumbs up and he continued saying he was a Detroit Lions fan….we shared a conversation about how great both our teams were playing and how we both were looking forward to the Thanksgiving Day showdown between the Lions and the Pack….it always amazes me how many people will say something to me when I’m wearing a Packer shirt….the Dallas Cowgirls can say what they want about being “America’s Team”…..I say they have been wrong for years…..The Packers are the “Real America’s Team”…..everyone loves the Power of the Cheese!!!

When we walked in they had their special on the board in the waiting area…..it sounded very good to me…..pasta, an Italian sausage cooked with bacon in an Alfredo Sauce….we all know what I think of anything and bacon….so, really……I had my mind made  up before Mr. Detroit ever handed me a menu….but I politely took it and pretended to look at what they have to offer…..The Wife looked and decided and then looked again and re-decided and then looked again and re-re-decided and …..yadda yadda…..re-re-re-decided on a Cannelloni with a meat sauce….

The waitress brought us some bread and our drinks as we waited….we could sorta see the baseball game across the room…..if you’re gonna offer a TV then it should be large enough for all to enjoy….but we could see enough to make the time pass….they took a little longer than they should have and the waitress apologized for the wait, saying there had been a large party they were trying to take care of….no harm done and it wasn’t much longer that our food finally arrived….

NOT SURE WHO ALFREDO IS.....BUT HIS SAUCE IS GOOD....

I must say it was well worth the wait…..the special was just that….special…..the pasta & sausage were covered  in a very creamy Alfredo and with the bacon popping in and out of every bite the flavors jumping around in my mouth were wonderful…..the portion size was huge and I was getting that look from The Wife…..”Are you really gonna eat…..the whole thing”……uh…….yep……I was…..it was good enough to go beyond that stuffed feeling and on into the I wish I was at home and I could unbutton my pants feeling….I scrapped my plate clean….doubt they had to wash it when they came and pried it from my fingers….

The Wife’s cannelloni wasn’t as good….or at least I didn’t think so…..toooooooo dense….I only had a bite of her’s that night, but I did eat the leftovers a day or two later…..I didn’t eat much of it….just didn’t care for it….

VERY PRETTY.....NOT SO TASTY....

We finished up and I waved to my new friend and said I’d come back after Thanksgiving to either gloat or bow to him if the Lions pull one out….

The Wife twisted my arm to stop at Luby’s for some take-out pie…..I got pecan….Luby’s use to make the best pecan pie….not so much any more…..it’s still pretty good…..but not as good as it use to be…..a lot of Luby’s isn’t as good as it use to be….

But I did enjoy my Lasagna House dinner….I did’t catch the name of it and I should have asked…..I guess when The Wife was rolling me out….I just forgot….

http://www.lasagnahouse.com/files/155_Lasagna_House_III_-_1960_To_Go_Menu.pdf

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

