Home > FOODS OF THE TRF > AN ONA-STICK-LESS SUNDAY…

AN ONA-STICK-LESS SUNDAY…

May I take a moment to correct myself from something I wrote last week (a comment from a reader)….I stated the festival transformed me back to the 1100’s…..duh…..King Henry reigned from 1509…..so…..my bad….my dumb…whatever you might want to call it….

Sunday morning dawned much brighter than it did last week….the sun peeking out of the early morning sky promised a beautiful day and so I was rolling down 2920 on my way back to the Texas Renaissance Festival…the traffic was light so I was looking forward to a nice quiet beginning to my Sunday morning in the King’s realm….

As I was walking down the pathway from my car to the faire I was met by one of the Sturdy Mud Beggars….I asked him how he had enjoyed the mud last week in the downpour…..as I suspected…..even the Mud Beggars prefer a dry day in which to ply their trade….

As I got in the festivities were beginning and there was a crowd watching as the different courts were being introduced….this is always a great place to get some pictures….you have everyone together in one spot and as each group is on display….I snapped a few shots and then moved deeper into the grounds….

MORNING GLORY...

I had a mission…..after last weeks posting some suggested that I needed to try the Royal Hamburg….a buger offered in the German section of the park….being early on a Sunday the grounds were crowd free and it was a nice stroll from the front to the back….as I walked up to the booth the German serving wench asked, “Vhat vill you have?” (imagine that with a German accent)….I boldly declared I wanted the Royal Hamburg….now there are three ways to have it…..and the “Duke” is a mayo/mustard combo…..this I found out makes a difference….

Now the Royal Hamburg is a nice sized cheeseburger….meat, swiss cheese, lettuce, tomato, onions, pickles, all served on what they call a sweet bun….now the board listed grilled mushrooms and souerkraut….I didn’t find these on my burger so, maybe you have to ask for them….however, it didn’t make a difference….this was one dang good burger….my first impression as I bit into it was how delicious the bun was…..the sweetness is a wonderful contrast to the cheeseburger that is sandwiched between….each bite was a combo of sweet and cheeseburger….the burger itself is great too….I didn’t notice any spice in the meat just a very nicely cooked burger….the cheese adds to the mix as well as the fresh fixins’….

THE SWEET BUN MAKES IT DANGLICIOUS

But…this is where it matters how you order your Royal Hamburg….I ordered mine “Duke” styled….with mustard and mayo….and my first few bites were mustard free….so I really got to enjoy the sweetness of the bun….then Mean Mr. Mustard reared his head….and with every bite that included mustard, I found that the mustard over powered the bun….and so the sweetness was sorta lost in the background…..and, at least for me, that made the burger less that what I had initially thought….don’t get me wrong…..those bites that were mustard-less were really really really gooooooooood……

Moral here is…..go without mustard on the Royal Hamburg…..I think it’s one of the best things I’ve eaten at TRF….even if it isn’t “ona-stick”….

NAUGHTY BUT FUNNY.....SOUND AND FURY

From there I wondered on down to the Odeon…..this is the stage where two of my favorite acts perform…..Sound And Fury, a somewhat naughty and extremely funny vaudeville act which does some hilarious variations of Shakespearian theater…..the other is Arsene….omg….he’s the best…..a French born juggler/magician…..his silent interaction with his assistants as well as the audience is as funny now as it was the first time I saw it…..and I see it every time I’m at the Festival….beware…..don’t walk in late to his show….you will find yourself part of the show…

DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME....ARSENE

After enjoying those two shows I walked to the back of the park to one of my other favorite sections…..Sherwood Forrest…..I’ve always loved Robin Hood and you never know when you may run into Mr. Loxley and his Merry Men….besides it’s just a beautiful area to hang out in….the wooded area is full of shadows and I can imagine Robin and his men having many an adventure as I sit and people watch….

As I shuffled through the pine needles that covered the pathway, I suddenly was overcome with a craving for something sweet….I made my way directly to the “sweets” booth and ordered a Queen Ann’s Lace…..(funnel cake)…..I slapped my five pounds on the counter as the wench handed me my paper plate holding the white powdered fried cake….I grabbed a diet coke (gotta count calories somewhere…right?) and made my way to a bench….

I settled and began to scarf down the powdery goodness…..not sure who invented the funnel cake….I’m sure it was some state fair accident but it has to be one of the single most outstanding moments in the history of mankind….what’s not to like…..fried dough covered in powdered sugar….the edges are crispy and as you work your way into the center you find it a little more doughy-licious…I always end up with as much powdered sugar on me as I eat….I’m no scientist but I think powdered sugar some how multiplies as you eat it….

QUEEN ANN'S LACE

As I ate my Lace….I enjoyed the sounds of Circa Paleo….hey…these guys/girls are good…..they perform on the same spot that was home for Tartanic for years…..and they have filled those shoes quite well…..I also watched people try to climb Jacob’s Ladder….nice to know that even guys that spend most of their waking moments in a weight room somewhere did not fare any better than I would on that tricky little rope ladder…..as I shoved fattening fried cake into my mouth I chuckled as a couple of He-Men toppled over again and again….

I then made my way back to the French section and was intent on finding something ona-stick….I mean….that’s what I love…..things on wood…..I walked to the stand and was greeted by a lovely French serving girl…..as I looked at what was offered (the food….not the girl…..you sick people…..) I was drawn to a Cajun delight…..Boudin…..now the big question was…..do they serve this coony sausage ona-stick???

CAJUN DELIGHT

I did ask….and she smiled and in her Frency-type accent said that the boudin came stick-less….my heart sank a little but the call of the coonass was too strong and I ordered….and then it hit me….this was gonna be a “ONA-STICK-LESS’ Sunday….how could that be…..but even FatJoe has his limits and after this I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat anything else….full is full…..even for me…..

I will say the boudin is pretty good….not “Forget-Port-Arthur-Boudin” good…..but good none-the-less…..the sausage link is served in one of those little paper cup-dishes and they will either cut in half or slice it down the middle….now I’ve been eating boudin for years….remember my Moma use to serve it to me as baby food….and I”m not sure why you would want it sliced down the middle….I guess you could spoon it out…..but…..what’s the fun in that…..you gotta pick boudin up and just bite into it…..that’s how Moma taught me…so it has to be right….

Now about the time I finished my boudin Cyrano de Bergerac walked up……long snout and all….he was rather funny and I enjoyed talking with him….for all his moaning about his large nose, many a lovely lady stopped to have their pic taken with him….I think it’s not that bad to be Cyrano….as he moved on to his next lady I got up and began to make my way to the front….the afternoon heat had picked up and little and I could feel a nap getting the better of me…..

I got to the gate…then my car…..and got to listen to the Packers beat up the Rams on the way home….

Overall it was a great day….some great entertainment….some interesting conversation….and some wonderful eats……

I’m sad that it was a stick-less day….but….somehow I made it through……

http://www.texrenfest.com/

http://www.soundandfury.org/

http://www.arsenedupin.com/pb/wp_4808fa78/wp_4808fa78.html

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

