Home > BEST OF THE REST, Uncategorized > THE GENIUS THAT IS…..BIG WILLIE STYLE

THE GENIUS THAT IS…..BIG WILLIE STYLE

Friday night rolled around and it was time to start thinking about….where to go eat…

I had dragged myself off the football field and was in the car headed home when The Wife called…how about Wunsche Bros. in Old Town Spring?

A wonderful idea….

I love Wunsche Bros….great food with a little German flair….so I was all in…..

We were going to meet Big Willie and family for our usual Friday night dinner….we arrived, parked and got inside….if you’ve never been to Wunsche Bros it is like stepping back in time….not too far back but to a time when things were a little more simple and basic….its an older wooden structure that opened in 1902 as a hotel/saloon and it says….”Welcome…..sit back….relax…..enjoy”….

We found the Big Willie’s and sat….Big E…had brought some Lego things to play with and I soon found myself battling ninjas, knights and a weaponed out speed boat….it wasn’t long before my legion of heroes was laying at the feet of Big E’s army…..at that very moment the waitress showed up and saved me from more death and destruction…

We ordered our drinks and I spoke up and requested an order of Sausage Sauerkraut Balls….and then round two of the battle for Lego World began…and as if on cue….the waitress saved my bacon once again and set down a healthy helping of fried sausage and sauerkraut….they were golden brown and not overly hot…..with a side of ranch we all helped ourselves and enjoyed….the crusted balls are flavorful and addicticting….even Big E, who is pretty particular about what he likes enjoyed…..

DEEP FRIED SAUSAGE AND SAUERKRAUT....SGT. SHULTZ WOULD APPROVE

We then began to order and I’ll have to admit I was torn….for a moment I almost became The Wife and deciced and then re-decided…..Chicken Fried Steak…which I know is delicious or….step out on a limb…..the Chicken Fried Chicken Sandwich….the discription of the CFC sandwich includes the words…”Our Famous….” and for me that was the kicker….I sawed off the limb behind me and ordered the sandwich….

I ordered my sandwich with mayo, lettuce, tomato and added cheese….I was going onion-less and mustard-less tonight….but then the Genius of Big Willie sparkeled through like a comet streaking through a lonely, dark Texas sky…..Willie uttered one word…..”BACON”….

I blinked…..shook my head…..and said….”WHAT?”

“Put Bacon on it”……

His smile spoke volumes…..he knows me well……

I looked from him to the waitress and said…”Is….tha….that possible?”

She smiled and said, “We can put bacon on anything.”…..

I nodded to let her know that was what I wanted and then selected the onion rings over the fries….(my one mistake)

I began to tingle…..I had a new hero…..and he had stepped into that roll with a simple word…..

I tried to return to the battle before me but my mind was focused on what I was about to eat…..sorry Big E…..Lego War was no longer utmost in my brain….

We finally got our food and to say I had to wipe my mouth is a little understatement…..I think I used four napkins before I took my first bite….the CFC sandwich at Wunsche Bros is…..thick….its a two-hander….and if you had a third hand it would help….it was hard to get my mouth wide enough to fit it all in…..but ….the physical sacrifice was worth it…..the bun is fresh…..the lettuce and tomato crisp…..the cheese melted perfectly….and the bacon mixed with the CFC was un-godly….each taken on its own would have been wonderful…..each combined with the others……incredible….

WHO'D HAVE THOUGHT.....BACON MADE IT DELICIOUS-ER

Big Willie glanced over at me and between the fallen Lego men I simply smiled and nodded…..letting him know…..his suggestion had been a stroke of Genius…..I’m sure I had sandwich hanging out of my mouth and I’m sure The Wife told me to clean it up….but I didn’t care….this was sooo good….everything else ceased to exist….

I was soon brought back to Earth, however…..the onion rings….less than I’ve come to expect from WB….in a way it was probably good that I didn’t like ’em…..cuz I’m not sure I could have finished both sandwich and rings……and….had room for desert….you gotta leave room for desert at Wunsche’s…..

I swallowed the last of my wonderful sandwich and then began the discussion of what to order to finish off our meal….there are some great choices at WB for desert…..the pecan pie is very good….the coconut cream pie is dang good….and there are two versions of chocolate cake that are delicous…..a whiskey chocolate cake (my choice) and a fudge chocolate cake (The Wife’s choice)…..wanna guess which one we got??

Fudge chocolate cake it was…..it is actually called the Texas Fudge Chocolate Cake….and it is very good…..a little too fudgy for me but I did manage to get my share of it down….I know it sounds horrible….but I did it…..

I must say that Big Willie is a pretty smart guy….he hangs out with me……how is that not smart….(haha)……but every once in a while someone you know will step out of our Earthly constraints and step into the realm of Genius…..and on this particular Friday night in an old wooden building in Old Town Spring….my friend pulled one down from the Heavens…..

Big Willie…..I love ya man…….

http://www.wunschebroscafe.com/index.htm

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

