Home > BREAKFAST > BREAKFAST WITH BUBBA AND SEAN….BUT….NO BUBBA….

BREAKFAST WITH BUBBA AND SEAN….BUT….NO BUBBA….

It was Saturday morning and my itinerary called for a breakfast meeting with the Brothers-T…..Sean & Bubba…..the meeting spot was Furr’s…..who can diss an all you can eat breakfast buffet ??

I rolled into the parking lot at Louetta and I45 about 7:30ish and saw Sean waiting…..but….no Bubba….

About the time I said, “G’morning”, I saw Sean on the phone…..it was Bubba….not feeling well…..

So, the Dynamic Duo was down to a Swell Single….

But never fear….Sean is more than capable of holding his own and providing wonderful breakfast conversation….besides….Furr’s had been his idea…

We discussed many things one of which was….the Sausage Sauerkraut balls at Wunsche Bros….Sean provided the quote of the day….”The sausage and sauerkraut provide a dichotomy of texture and flavor….”

I’m not really sure what that means…..but……even writen down it sounds…..really smart….

Now, I had eaten at Furr’s for dinner one evening when The Wife was outa town….and if I remember right I gave it somewhat mixed reviews….the all-you-can-eat-buffet idea is always a plus…..but some of the food was kinda hit and miss….so I was walking in with the idea…the hope…..that this was gonna be better than the dinner meal….

We got inside and paid our fee and then were shown a table….we ordered coffee and then headed for the endless supply of breakfast foods….on the very first steam table I found had a couple of things I’ve always wanted to try as a combo…..and this seemed the perfect time to give’em a whirl…there sitting before my hungry little eyes was…..waffels……and…..fried chicken….for years on the Food Channel I have seen many places that serve Chicken-n-Waffels….and have always wanted to give ’em a try…..just have never had the chance…..I know there are places in the Houston area that serve this Southern Delicacy…..but I have yet to step into one…..

The waffles were small so I put them on the plate and then tonged a chicken leg. on top of them…found the syrup and poured….I then scooped up some hash browns and  piled on the bacon…. having a full plate (the first one of the day)…..I headed back to the table….

WHAT CAME FIRST?

I’ll have to admit…..the chicken-n-waffle combo………….R O C K S !!!

The golden brown fried  chicken mixed with the waffle/syrup combo…..ooooo-la-la….its the whole salty/sweet thing…..two opposites colliding in your mouth….whoever or is it whomever…..thought this up….was pretty dang smart….you have to wonder sometimes where ideas like this come from….I mean you’re sitting around….you’ve just fried up some chicken and then you what…..the light bulb pops up over your head……”Say, let’s make some waffles and see how this chicken tastes on top”……what came first…..the waffle or the chicken……that question has plagued mankind for hundreds of years…..we may never know….

Needless to say….I enjoyed it….

My second trip found me plating some eggs, some sausage gravy and biscuits, and more…..bacon….

ROUND TWO....MORE BACON...

My friends….this breakfast buffet was really good…..great would be stretching it a bit…..but this is good food and lots of it….the endless coffee tops it off nicely….

Between the food and the conversation it was a nice way to spend a Saturday morning….Bubba or no Bubba

http://www.furrs.net/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

