Home > BURGERS > FAT MIKES COMES THROUGH ONCE AGAIN….

FAT MIKES COMES THROUGH ONCE AGAIN….

Another Friday night and another decision….where we gonna eat??

I picked The Wife up at the airport and after the usual catch up conversation we both began to wonder where we were gonna go chow down at the end of another long work week….I actuall said I didn’t care….I will usually say that and as she lists off places we might go eat I will start deciding I really do care…..so we go from me not caring to her choosing from my one or two spots that I really wanted all along…..but on this particular night…..I really didn’t care….

We stopped at the house to drop off her stuff and left…. as we came to the corner of Old Holzwarth and Louetta she pointed to the right…”Go that way”……I, being the ever obedient guy, did as I was told….we headed down Louetta and after shrugging my shoulders in indifference for about the tenth time….she suggested…..Fat Mikes……

HOMEMADE TEXAS COMFORT FOOD

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh HECK-YES!!!!!

I stepped on the gas and made our way to Stuebener Airline and parked in a rather full parking lot….Fat Mike was doing very well on a Friday Night….we stepped in and found it crowded but not so much we couldn’t be seated…..besides the World Series on the TV’s all over the place, there was live music….a guy on his guitar singing some laid-back 60’s, 70’s & 80’s tunes…he was very good….

We were seated and ordered drinks….we picked up our menus and in between “Let It Be”, “You Are So Beautiful”, and the Rangers trying to make a game of the final game of the series we decided on what we wanted….

The Wife was feeling a little road weary and said she wasn’t that hungry so she went with the Appetizer Combo……a sample of fried mac-n-cheese, potato skins, fried pickles and firey chicken tenders….they serve this with Mike’s BBQ sauce, bleu cheese, & sour cream….She ordered the potato skins stuffed with pulled pork and the firey tenders with the medium sauce…..

THINK SHE'LL NOTICE IF A STEAL A PICKLE?

I was in a burger state of mind and had spotted Mike’s Texas Burger….1/2 lb. burger grilled and topped with Texas cheddar, Canadian bacon and Mike’s BBQ sauce……it is served with Homemade fries…..

We sat and enjoyed the music…..and at the time were still  watching a Texas Rangers team that still had a chance to pull out Game 7….

Fat Mikes is a really nice little joint…..decorated with uniquely painted faces of different celebrities…..my favorite is the Willie Nelson that hangs close to the front door…as I looked from Uncle Willie to the game I noticed that everyone, families and couples alike, were enjoying their food and the atmosphere…..The Wife commented we needed to bring the Big Willie Family some Friday Night……I wouldn’t argue with that…..

Our food arrived and  it looked good…..The Wife’s Appetizer Combo was a platter full of golden fried delights and potato skins stuffed with beautiful pulled pork….I snuck a fried pickle and while they are very good…..I think the fried pickles at Hooters are better…..uh….well….that’s what I’ve heard……don’t think I’ve ever been inside a Hooters (least that’s what Moma thinks)…..

I picked up my burger and had to sorta heft it to my mouth…..and on the first bite I had a very pleasant surprise….the bun was a sweet sourdough bun…..just like the one on the Royal Hamburg at TRF…..I have become a very veryvery big fan of that bun……something about that sweet bread seems to just add to the flavor dance of the rest of the burger….so as my teeth made their way through the bun and found the BBQ sauce, Canadian Bacon, and perfectly seasoned beef, I was transported to Burger Town Hall…this burger could very well sit on the City Council of Burger Town…..am I saying it could be Mayor?…..no I don’t think I’d go that far…..but it would defiantly be seated at the council table…..there were a couple of bites that were sauce-less and those didn’t live  up to their sauce-filled brothers…but overall this is a dang good burger…..I think it was my first with Canadian Bacon and I can say it won’t be my last….

TEXAS CHEDDAR MEET CANADIAN BACON

The fries were unique….The Wife thought they might be twice fried…..I liked them more….the more I ate them…..and by the time I ate the last one I was sorry to see them gone……

As far as The Wife’s combo…..the fried mac-n-cheese is wrapped in bacon and could be one of my favorite appetizers of all time……if you go to Fat Mikes you have to try the fried mac-n-cheese……the chicken tenders were good but the medium sauce was not very hot…..so while we both said we liked ’em, we also said we’d get the hot sauce next time…..the potato skins, stuffed with pulled pork, were great…..the port is tender and flavorful……and when you pour some of Mike’s BBQ sauce on it…..it takes it to another level…..

We finished off the meal sharing a peach cobbler with a scoop of vanilla ice cream…..oooooooohhhhhhhh my……granny could learn a thing or two about cobbler from FM’s……the crust is un-real good……The Wife could see me entering the “this is better than…well….you fill in the blank”…….and said “It’s full of butter”……….whatever it’s full of……I would love to fill myself with that crust…….

So…..a night that began with indecision and lack of caring…..had ended with two very contented and full people…..it’s funny the twists and turns that the roadway that is one’s life takes…..sometime you step out on a journey, with no idea where you may end up…..sometimes the places  you end up….kinda stink…..and other times you end up smelling the roses of someplace sweet….

UNCLE WILLIE WOULD LOVE FAT MIKES

Sorry…..that was rediculously……deep…..well….it’s deep for me……

 

http://www.fatmikesonline.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

