Home > BURGERS > BURGERS, GATORS & NACHOS….

BURGERS, GATORS & NACHOS….

Another bright and glorious Sunday morning found me headed out to the Texas Renaissance Festival…rain or no rain the weather was perfect…..a cool, crisp morning would turn into a nice warm afternoon…..so, with Shell coffee in hand I made my way to the gates of the kingdom…

THE FULL CAST.....

I handed the King’s Beefeater my ticket and walked through the main gate…..the usual folks were there to meet and greet and I wandered around the crowd gathered to watch the opening festivities….since it was Halloween weekend there were some ghouls mixed both in the crowd and the players in the day’s drama….nothing like a lovely young woman dressed in a beautiful period costume with blood streaming from her eyes and mouth…..but its Halloween….what’cha gonna do?

I stopped and caught Tartanic’s first show of the day….the music rocks and I can always say I was there the day a lady with her cell phone found out what’s really under a kilt…..another sin I would have to ask forgiveness for…

THE BIG QUESTION.....BLUE RIBBON?

I took a few shots and then headed back to the German section…..with my last outing I tried the Royal Hamburg….I had gone Duke styled which meant no sauerkraut and no sautéed mushrooms……I also had gone with regular mustard…..and to me the mustard had overpowered the otherwise wonderful cheeseburger……I walked and placed my order making sure to tell the fraulein  I wanted the deluxe all the way and to add dijon  mustard……(this was a reader’s recommendation)…..when the burger showed up I took it and my diet coke to a nearby bench and began to unwrap the yellow paper from my burger treasure…

My goodness that’s one pretty piece of meat….and the sweet sourdough bun (my  new favorite) framed it like a golden leaf frame surrounding a priceless work of art….my picture does not do it justice….this is pretty food…..fall in love pretty….and I was head over heels before I ever took a bite…..

Bite I did……and as good as the Duke version of the Royal Hamburg was….this was levels higher…..the bun was just as wonderful and sweet as I remembered…..the swiss cheese melty and hot……the meat is omg good…..and then there is the sauerkraut and the mushrooms….the sweet, sour, salty mambo that danced in my mouth almost made me pass out…..I bit a piece of the napkin at one point and it was so full of flavor I was sad when I spit it out…..this is one danglicious burger…..not only the best thing I’ve ever had at the festival…..but this makes my favorite burgers in Texas list…..top five…..if you love burgers you have to try this……

1000 TIMES BETTER THAN THE PICTURE

The feasting came to an end and I made my way to do a little shopping……the festival offers some unique things to browse through…..there are things there that you would be hard pressed to find anywhere else….its always fun to look through the different shops and see what you can see…

Later in the day I made my way back into the Spanish section…..earlier I had spotted one of my favorite signs in the whole wide world……Bacon Ona Stick…..what a way to top off the Royal Hamburg…..I smiled at the serving wench and stated in a clear and concise voice…..”Bacon ona stick, please…..”with a sigh she shook her head and said …..”Sorry, we’re out….have been since yesterday….”

I was crestfallen…..she asked if I needed a priest…..my joy had turned to dispar in a blink of an eye…..I looked around and couldn’t believe I heard myself say……”I’ll take the nachos”……..

NACHOS?

THEY ARE WHAT THEY ARE.....

She handed them to me and I stumbled to the nearest picnic table and tried to console myself with chips covered in cheese……hey they are what they are…..conveince store nachos….nothing special……but they do pour on the cheese…..you will run out of chips hours before you run out of cheese…..and for $4 they’re a decent value……

Having fallen from the mountain top to the deepest valley I made my way back down into the French Section…..I was still wanting to fill that Bacon need and after watching the French Court take a nap…..I made my way to the booth and ordered alligator ona stick…..it’s not bacon but being a boy of the bayou…..it would be a small consolation……

Its fried golden brown, the batter is crispy and the alligator has a nice flavor….if you’ve never had ‘gator then you should give it a try…..tastes just like…….chicken……haha……not exactly…….

FRENCH FRIED GATOR ......

After that FatJoe was getting sleepy……I didn’t think I could get away with what the Frencie’s had done and sack out in the middle of the lane…..so, I made toward the front gate…..I did run into My Friend Darryl and enjoyed a few minutes catching up…..Darryl is the lead horn-man at the faire……the king doesn’t do anything without Darryl tooting out a tune or two……

In a nutshell I had had the best thing I’ve ever eaten at TRF and then fallen to the bottom of the food chain……life is a rollercoaster and for every peak there is a valley or two you must endure……and there ends the lesson for today….

CHECK OUT MORE PICS AT MY FLICKER ACCOUNT….

http://www.texrenfest.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

