Home > BBQ > THE BEGINNING OF THE BBQ BASH…

THE BEGINNING OF THE BBQ BASH…

Two down….two to go….

Saturday morning on the road with Moma and The Wife….rumbling down I10 West towards the Luling/Lockhart exit…..my birthday gift from The Wife is a weekend of BBQ’ing in two of the Texas Legends BBQ tour cities….there are four cities on the Tour….Luling, Lockhart, Elgin and Taylor…..I’ve been to every one of ’em and had at least some Q in one or more of the spots in each town….

There are six spots in the two cities of Luling and Lockhart…..Luling sports…..Luling City Market, and Luling BBQ…..Lockhart has….Blacks, Kreuz, Smitty’s and The Chisholm Trail…..

I’ve been to Blacks a couple of summers ago and I didn’t want to  push too much with The Wife….I was given four choices for this Birthday Weekend  BBQ Bash….Luling City Market, Luling BBQ, Smitty’s and Kreuz….

Day one…..as we turned off I10 and heading into Luling, I figured we’d hit Luling City Market first….since they’re not open on Sundays it made sense to go ahead and knock this one off the BBQ Bucket List….we parked across the street and made our way inside….this place has been described as the “Holy of Holy’s of BBQ”…..and I did feel like I was walking into a church….I almost knelt at the outer counter and looked for some Holy water….we hit it at the right time as far as having to wait cuz we just shuffled into the back where the magic happens….its dark and the walls are covered with years and years of smoke….it smells like BBQ Heaven…..

 

FIRST OF FOUR...

 

I stepped up to the counter and had to fight down the nerves…..I was standing before the Pearly Gates and St. Peter wanted to know what I wanted…..I had decided to forgo any side dishes and this was going to be a meat-only weekend….so I swallowed hard and  in a very shaky voice said, “Half pound of brisket, half pound of ribs and a sausage link”….I got the look from Moma that says…..I can see why you’re fat…..but Moma be danged… I was laying myself prostrate before the throne…..

A HOLY PLACE...

They slap your meat on butcher paper and ask if you want onions, pickles, jalapeno and/or bread…..I took the pickle, peppers and 3 slices of Wonder Bread…I paid my $$$ and moved back into the dining room…..at this point you move to the outer counter where you order drinks and whatever sides you may want…..I ordered a diet Dr. Pepper and hoped that would satisfy Moma and prove I do take this eating healthier seriously….

EAT, DRINK, AND BE MERRY

I sat….crossed myself….gazed into the smokey ceiling and took my first bite…..I found the brisket….at least on my first bite….a little on the dry side….the bark was good but the meat was a little less than moist….I found some sauce and that helped…and as I continued to eat I found some fat and found that moistened the meat up a little….

They do offer sauce here (it comes in hot sauce bottles)….a nice mild sauce….not much of a kick but it has a nice flavor and I would recommend it for the brisket…

I picked up a rib and here the tide turned for the better…..O M G…..the rib was good…..there was almost a charred crust on top and as you got through that you found some very tender juicy rib meat….no sauce needed here….

Finally I picked  up the sausage link and bit into it….this too was very good…..a beef sausage with good snap and some great flavor….again I never put sauce on the sausage……

BRISKET IS GOOD....RIBS AND SAUSAGE ARE GREAT

And that was it……the first joint was fading into the rear-view mirror and I found myself thinking about what I had just eaten… I would give the brisket a B…..the ribs and sausage A’s…….very worth a trip to the Holy Land of Q…..

We traveled the 25 or so miles into San Marcos and made our way to the Embassy Suites…..very nice digs….and had not The Wife and Moma been here…..it would have been a bit too fancy for a BBQ bash…..who needs nice digs when eating Q is why you’re there….but having a up-scaled base to check into made things even better…..

I drove The Women to the Outlet Mall…..if you’ve never been to Outlet Mall(s) in San Marcos….well….if you can imagine the Death Star laid out flat….and all the weapon stations and torture cells turned into stores…..then you have a good idea how massive and fun  this place is…..actually there are two malls side by side….and each would be like…..half the Death Star….needless to say…..the Women represented The Empire and I a lowly Rebel…..while they shopped and shopped my job was to hold open doors and then carry bags back to the Imperial Cruiser…..but I was getting to eat BBQ till sauce poured from my pores….so I wasn’t going to complain….

The afternoon turned into early evening and it was time to pack up the last of the days purchases and begin to make our way to Lockhart and to Kreuz Market…we found our way and it took us little while to figure out where Kreuz was but we found it and walked through another set of Hallowed doors…..

If  you don’t know the history here there is some BBQ Legends stuff that exists between Kreuz and Smitty’s ….two halves of the same family….at one point this was a happy BBQ’ing family located where Smitty’s is today….when Dad passed away the two siblings couldn’t get a long so one of them stayed put and renamed the joint Smitty’s and the other moved down the street and kept the family name…..

OLD SCHOOL IN A NEW BUILDING

Kreuz (pronounced Kritzes) is a nice modern building….and it smelled wonderful as we walked through the screen doors….you walk down a long hallway and to the right you look into the large dining area…..but if you go straight…….there you find the pits….you walk into an open area and the first thing that hits you is the heat…..the pits are fired from the floor and you have to admire those who stand behind the counter  and deal with that heat……I can only imagine what it might be like in the middle of July in that room…..

There was a little old lady behind the counter…..she ripped off some butcher paper and looked at us for our order….I was going to try to be a little less glutenous here and went with a slice of Clod (a cheaper shoulder cut), a couple of ribs, and a sausage link (I went with hot)…..

FLOOR-FIRED PITS

now there is no sauce here….and no forks…..read the signs as you walk into the pit area…..

THEY TAKE THIS STUFF SERIOUSLY

Moma and The Wife went with a slice of ham…..

They folded our meat filled paper and we made our way into the nice big dining area…..bright and comfortable…..there is a counter to get some sides and drinks….( I would recommend an Arnold Palmer…..half unsweet tea….half lemonade)…..we sat and I dug in…..

I started with the Clod….I went with Clod instead of Brisket because I had read that this was a Kreuz’s must-have….I was not impressed…..dry…..and very salty…..and with no sauce there was no way to make it any better….even in the fatty areas it wasn’t very moist…..I would not get this again….

The ribs were tender….not much of a crust on top but the meat was juicy……but here again…..very salty…..almost to the point of making them hard to eat……

Last but the one shining moment of this stop….the Hot Link…..this was good…..nice snap on the casing…..good beef flavor…..and a great kick with each bite….

HOT LINK IS THE STAR HERE

Now both Moma and The Wife like their ham…..I tried some and it was very good….but I was not there for ham……

Of the four places we went….Kreuz Market was my least favorite……the sausage would be worth a stop….but the ribs and brisket at the other places are better eats…..

So….two down…..two to go…..

FATJOE REFLECTS ON HEAVEN

 

Luling City Market was hands down the winner of the day……

http://homepage.mac.com/ravnhaus/BBQ/joints/lulingcitymkt.html

http://www.kreuzmarket.com/index.shtml

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

