Home > FOODS OF THE TRF > A LAST HAZAH FOR THE YEAR…

A LAST HAZAH FOR THE YEAR…

Who ever the genius was that came up with opening the Texas Renaissance Festival the Friday after Thanksgiving should be given some sort of Nobel Prize….I mean for those of us who don’t live for Black Friday it is wonderful to have something to do the day after football and turkey….

I was looking forward to a last day of frolicking and festivaling as I walked through the gates last Friday….and I was surprised at the crowd that was already moving through the faire….I was thinking that being the day after a holiday and with all the shopping being done that the grounds would be less than crowded….but it was nice to see I wouldn’t be spending the day in an empty New Market…..

I was running late so I missed the opening few minutes of the day but having seen it 6 times already, I figured I’d survive….I made my way down to the Globe Stage and caught a few minutes of Clan Tynker…..a very entertaining family juggling act…..I watched them do some very “dangerous” feats before moving deeper into the village…

CLAN TYNKER

I found myself near the jousting arena and remembered someone had commented on one of my earlier blogs about trying the Bread Bowl…..I was hungry (but I’m always hungry) so I decided to give it a shot….I walked to the Captain’s Gallery booth and ordered a Crew’s Request…a beef stew served in a bread bowl….the stew was very good…..not great but good…..the bread, where the stew soaked in was good too…..but the stew runs out way before the bread does……not sure how you’d fix this but I would put this middle of the pack as far as things I ate during the 2011 TRF….

THE WHITE THING IS THE SPOON

I wandered around a bit….not going anywhere in particular….I found myself at the Greek section and decided to take in the Gypsy Dance Theater…..I use to catch this every year….but…..it had been a few years since I’d seen it….I sat…..and the smells coming from the food in the stage area were delicious…..if I hadn’t just eaten I would have found something there…..

I enjoyed the show…..not sure how the Gypsy dancers make their hips do what they do…..but one does not need to understand something to enjoy seeing it done…..

HOW DO THEY DO THAT?

After the hip swiveling I walked around a little more…..about that time I saw the parade making it’s way past me and decided it was time for what I really wanted to try….it took me a minute or two to find it but it was well worth the effort….Chocolate Dipped Cheesecake Ona Stick….like the person who came up with opening the faire the day after Thanksgiving….whomever thought of this….should be granted God-status……as the wench was setting the impaled piece of cake in the little holder I was awestruck….to say the least….or to say the most…..either way…..I was drooling…..

Before I ever wrapped my FatJoe lips around it…..I noticed just how pretty it is…..the chocolated looked creamy and they drizzled white chocolate over it…..creating swirls of flavor……from the very first bite….I was smitten…..dang this was good…..it would have been one thing if they had covered a crummy piece of cheesecake with some crummy chocolate…..but…..that’s not what they’ve done……it’s a great piece of cheesecake covered in really good chocolate….and the fact that they’ve added a stick…..could you be any more clever??? …..I dare say…..NOT!!!

ONA-STICK GOODIE

If it is possible to suck cheesecake out ofa stick…..I did just that…..I think this is the best sweet I’ve every had at TRF……

After my chocolate delight……I walked to watch some of the Ded Bob Show….talk about someone who’s made a fortune with the same schtick…..but I still find myself laughing and I would never ever not see him at least once during the festival season….and since the place is packed for every one of his shows…..I guess I’m not the only one….

BOINK.....

The day was moving on and as I’ve gotten older I’ve found that I’m good for about 6-7 hours of frolicking fun…..another year was coming to a close…..but I knew I needed to try one more thing before heading home…..however, the one I wanted was clear back in Sherwood Forest…..you know…sometimes you gotta take a long trip to get something good…..

I wanted a Turkey Leg….I know…..I know…..I had over indulged in Turkey just the day before…..but what is TRF if not……Turkey Legs…..and my favorite Leg is found in Sherwood….not sure what they do different there but I enjoy their’s better than any other I’ve had….

The forest that is the home of Robin Hood was crowded….people milling here and there…..guarding their purses from Robin and his band of Merry Men….but I was able to make my way to the Turkey Leg Booth and placed my order….as the cute lil’ serving girl handed me my Tom Turkey Leg she asked….”Is that one big enough….or would you like another?”….I snikered….and considered my list of reply options…..being the good boy that I am…..I simply said…..”You know I have asked that myself….”…..took my leg and moved to a bench to eat….

SORRY TOM.....BUT YOU IS DELICIOUS

Even after all the turkey from the day before…..I enjoyed my Leg-O-Turkey…..the skin was tender and flavorful and the meat underneath was just as good….I kept thinking I’d get tired of it after the day before…but….I never did…..each bite was as good as the one before…..and before long I had eaten everything but the bone….it was a nice way to finish the 2011 faire…..

I guess if I were to sum up my TRF eating adventure I would say that it was pretty darn good…..I really enjoyed the Royal Hamburg and a close second was The Duke version of the Royal Hamburg…Steak Ona Stick was as delicious as it’s ever been…..the Boudin was delicious….the Rueben was tasty too..I really liked the Turkey Leg…..the Bacon Ona Stick was good but I think could be lots better….the Gator Ona Stick was just ok….

As far as sweets go…..The Chocolate Covered Cheesecake Ona Stick was incredible….the Apple Dumpling with Ice Cream was dang good and the Funnel Cake never disappoints….

It was a great 8 weeks…..I had a lot of fun, took some nice pictures and ate some great food…..

On the down side….I gained some extra poundage that will need to come off before……swim-suit season……haha

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

