Home > BBQ, Uncategorized > BBQ BASH DAYS 2 & 3…

BBQ BASH DAYS 2 & 3…

Saturday was spent driving to Luling to eat at Luling City Market….then to San Marcos for The Women to shop till I dropped….driving to Lockhart to eat at Kreuz…and was finished up by watching THE BAYLOR BEARS WHIP OKLAHOMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Except for being a little disappointed in Kreuz it was a great day…

Saturday we got going with breakfast in the hotel…..I guess it was what it was….a freebie…..then it was off for round two of the Death Star Outlet Mall Shopping Spree….YIPEE!!!

Noon rolled around and we headed back to Lockhart to try out Smitty’s BBQ…the background here is that Smitty’s is where Kreuz used to be…when Daddy passed away Brother and Sister could no longer BBQ well with each other….so Smitty’s took the spot and Kreuz took the name and moved down the street…as I said in an earlier blog, I found Kreuz a little too salty for my tastes….the hot link was good but the clod and ribs weren’t all that…

BBQ CHURCH

Smitty’s BBQ is what I’d call as old school as it gets….you smell the smoke a looooooooooooooooong time before you walk in the door….and as you walk in you can’t help but notice what years of smoke and heat have done to the walls and celing…..but omg…if those walls could talk…..decades of BBQ wonderment from people who know what BBQ should taste like….

SMOKE COVERED WALLS

One of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen was the actual fire pits that create the smoke that create the BBQ magic…even The Wife commented on how “Wild” it was to see the fires and those huge pits….I wish they gave guided tours…..Disneyland with meats!!!!

MAGIC FIRES

The heat was intense as the yellow/red flames roared…and the smell was just as intense….smokey flavored air surrounded me as I made my way to the counter to order…having over stuffed myself ( I guess that really is possible) the day before, I was a little more….shall we say….cautious with my ordering…a couple of slices of brisket, two ribs and a sausage link…they offer bread and/or crackers with your meat…if you want any sides you must leave the HOLY MEAT AREA and order those from the counter in the dining room…I stuck with just the meat and WonderBread….

SMITTY'S DINNING AREA

The dining area is nice….long tables with chairs…..and a TV or maybe two….it was Sunday so while I enjoyed the Q I watched Dallas vs. Washington….I opened my brown butcher paper and the meat was “purdy”….looked moist and barked in just the right places….I couldn’t wait to sink my choppers into it….

I started with the brisket….from bite one it was moist and the smokey flavor was incredible…of the four places I tried I would say this was the best brisket I had….this stuff didn’t need sauce….it was tender and every bite was incredible….I think Waller County Line has some of the best brisket I’ve ever had….but this would be the best brisket I ever had-A….

LEGENDARY Q

The ribs were tender and came off the bone with ease….wonderful smoke….I liked the crust/bark on the ribs at City Market better….but these ribs would take a back seat to no one…..

The sausage was incredible….great snap and spice kick….I know sausage is a personal thing….different people have their favorites throughout our great state….I still think I would rate the sausage at Meyers in Elgin as the best I’ve ever had….and this was not as good as that….but it was really really good…

This was my Fave spot of the four…..as old school as you can get as far as how they prepare the Q and just knowing that that old smokey building has seen as much Texas BBQ History as most places in the state…. was like being in BBQ Church….

We left through the pit area and I got one more shot of the heat and smoke that makes Smitty’s BBQ special….

A FINAL LOOK INSIDE

Thank goodness the Mall was still working when we made our way back to San Marcos….I would have hated to have missed out on another round of shopping….but The Girls shopped till it started getting dark and we headed back to the Embassy Suites…..after a little rest we piled back into the overstuffed SUV and headed for some dinner…..there was a Chili’s nearby so we opted for that…..

I ordered a Jalapeno Smokehouse Bacon Cheeseburger….and I must say it was a nice pit stop from the BBQ….Chili’s does a nice cheeseburger and when you add jalapeno and bacon…..it is all that much better……

A BUGER BREAK FROM THE BBQ

After dinner we headed back home…..watched some Sunday night football and then called it a day….we still had a last trek down to the Mall, then the trip home through Luling and  our final BBQ stop…..Luling BBQ….

We went store to store till it got to be about 11am….and then a miracle happened…..The Wife looked at Moma and said…..”Unless you need to look at something else…..I think I”m through”…..

I held my breath and my heart sank as Moma said, “If we could try that one store one more time…..”

I steeled myself for another walk through the Death Star…when miracle #2 happened….”You know…..I can do without that”……Moma had seen the light……and we had shot our two little torpedos into the small intake valve and destroyed the Death Star……for a brief moment I was Luke Skywalker and was flying away as the Death Star exploded behind me…..

Before anyone could decide otherwise….I hearded them back into the SUV and pulled onto the highway and began making our way to Luling…

Now this place is right across the street from the first place we stopped….Luling City Market….so with these two legendary BBQ spots so close together you can imagine how wonderful the smells are…..smokey wonder fills the air…..

LULING BBQ

We walked in……a nice little joint…..picnic tables…..and an order counter…..there was a line……the locals in Luling have it good to have these two so close together….I’m sure there are loyal patrons for each one……but what a dilima to be stuck with……

Of the four places we tried, this one offered the most in the way of variety….besides BBQ they offered plate lunches and burgers….The Wife and Moma had been real troopers up till now but the “Q-Overload” set in and they went with cheeseburgers….

THEY SERVE MORE THAN Q

I went with a little brisket, a sausage link and a couple of ribs….no sides but the Nanner Puddin looked too good to pass up…..I got my order and we made our way to the table…..they brought The Girls their burgers and fries…..

The brisket was solid…..very moist and tender…..the sausage and ribs were very good too…..to be honest I would have a hard time choosing between the two Luling BBQ joints…..on the Q alone…..but…..Luling BBQ offers a very unique sauce…..it’s Mustard based…..and ohhhhh my……it kicks some serious hiney…..I put it on everything I had….welll not the Nanner Puddin…..but on the brisket…..sausage……and ribs…..it added layers of flavor to each and every bite……it was even good on the WonderBread…..

ALL GOOD..

The Girls liked their burgers….they were huge and full of flavor…..this was their favorite spot…..

THE WIFE AND MOMA LOVED THIS

In the final thought on my little BBQ Bash…..I’d have to say that Smitty’s was my favorite…..Luling BBQ would be next because of the sauce…..but the ribs at Luling City Market were incredible…..it is almost a toss-up for me between those two…..but Kreuz was my least favorite….and now that I can say that I’ve been there….not sure I would go back….

Well, I would be very remiss if I didn’t thank The Wife and Moma for my gift of Q…..it was a great weekend…..and even though I was a pack mule for most of the time…..they were great sports for sucking it up and eating BBQ for three days…..

BBQ'ING NEIGHBORS

If you have any Q in you…..you gotta hit some of these spots in the Texas Legends BBQ Trail…..Luling, Lockhart, Elgin and Taylor truly do make up the BBQ BIBLE BELT….so when you hit your knees remember to thank the Good Lord that you live in Texas…..

http://www.tourism-tools.com/texasbbq/Welcome.html

http://www.lulingbar-b-q.com/

http://www.smittysmarket.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

