Home > 2011 FATJOE-EE'S, BBQ > AND THE WINNER IS….

AND THE WINNER IS….

For FatJoe 2011 was the year of BBQ…I had the FatJoe Summer BBQ Tour….that was followed by the 2011 FatJoe Birthday BBQ Bash…two major events in the culinary world…

It was lots of fun as well as lots of calories…

Texas, no matter what people in The Carolinas or St. Louis or Kansas City say, is the KING OF BBQ. ..while it’s true that those other spots have some great Q, there are so many GREAT BBQ JOINTS in the Lone Star State that one would be very hard pressed to try them all…..yes, I would love to do that….every town in Texas boasts a place that boasts the Best BBQ in Texas…so for all the bragging those other states have…..we, here in Texas can run (sausage) rings around ’em…

Now, my BBQ quest is nowhere near complete….I dare say, I’ve not even scratched a scratch on the surface….but I’d like to think that I ate enough Q over the last 12 months to be able to say that I’m approaching BBQ WISDOM….the final count was 17 different joints….and some of those were multiple visits…

Here are my choices for BEST BBQ (I ate) in 2011…this is based solely on the BBQ….I didn’t include any sides in my choices…

#5 – Dickey’s BBQ, The Woodlands – Good solid Q….but the Spicy Polish Sausage to die for

#4 – City Market BBQ, Luling – Great ribs, sausage &  brisket,….A unique Mustard based sauce

#3 – Hungry Farmer, Houston – All good….Spicy Sausage out of this world

#2 – Smitty’s Market, Lockhart – Old school Texas Q done to perfection

#1 – Waller County Line, Waller – The best Q I had all year….Each and every bite BBQ Heaven….and great Boudin to boot!!

Others that are worth of trying…Old Tomball BBQ (Tomball), Luling BBQ (Luling), Mo’s BBQ (Spring), Tin Roof (Humble), and Field Store BBQ (Waller)…

Some that you might want to avoid…The Pitmaster (Spring), Kreuz (Lockhart), Junior’s BBQ (Waller),  & Chili’s (for Ribs)…

We can only hope that 2012 brings even more BBQ….There are literally 100’s of places left to try….I love recommendations….

Have Fat….Will Travel…..

*NEXT UP….BEST BREAKFAST OF 2011

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

