Home > BEST OF THE REST > NOT JUST FOR BREAKFAST….ANYMORE

NOT JUST FOR BREAKFAST….ANYMORE

Our usual Friday night routine is to hook up with Big Willie & Family and go out for dinner….we’ve done this for the last seven or eight years (maybe longer…the memory seems to fade with each passing day…..I know that we’ve been friends with them a lot longer…but the weekly dinners began about the time Big E (Little Big Willie) was either on the way or just arrived…..and here again I may be way off…..for all I remember we may have done this since the late 1980’s…..)

Whatever the case….we have done a pretty good job about going to different places almost every week….now we do have our usual spots but we at least switch them around on a regular basis….we have a couple of pizza stops, a few all-around-pretty-much-whatever-you-want places and of course….two or three regular Tex-Mex el’joint-o’s…..

The usual Mexican places are Chuy’s (The Woodlands), Los Cucos (The Woodlands) or Casa Imperial (Spring)….at least those seem to be the places we end up at lately….and on this particular Friday night The Wife wanted Mesican…..so one of these were probably where we would end up……

Not-So-Fast….Amigo!!

There is one place (and I”ve blogged about it before) that I love to go for breakfast….the food is great……you get lots of it…..and it’s cheap…..the Holy Trinity……it’s Taquerias Arandas…..now they are all over the place but the two I hit are located on I45…..one in The Woodlands and one in Houston at FM 1960….the one at FM 1960 is sorta the backup…..that’s usually where I go after my Dr. has told me I need to lose some weight….nothing like drowning medical news with a taco or burritos…..

More times than not I have gone to TA for breakfast….as I said the food is very very good and it’s dirt cheap…..I’ll never forget when I discovered this place the Breakfast (eggs with your choice of meats or potatoes, refried beans, bacon or ham & tortillas) was $2.29…..the manager and I got to be friends and he apologized more than once when they raised their price to $2.49…..extra 20 cents or not I believe this is the best valued meal in the WORLD!!!

Yup….I said it…..you got something better?????

You tell me where and I’ll….I’ll…..I’ll…. go eat there…..

Any-who….back to the Friday night dinner…..when we were deciding where to go (sometimes this takes longer than the actual dinner does) I suggested TA…I had been there for dinner earlier in the week and was very impressed with what I had eaten….so, being FatJoe, the man with the inside food-track…..my suggestion was taken and off to TA (The Woodlands) we went…

We got there and we were early enough that there wasn’t a crowd yet….so we found a table and took our menus….we ordered our drinks and some queso…..Princess P (daughter to Big Willie & Moma Mindy) is the queen of queso and ketchup…..I tried to get her to combine the two…..put queso on a chip and then squirt some ketchup on it…..I actually tried it….and liked it…..but I never could convince her to give it a whirl……kids these days…….she’s 4 going on 25…….

Our chips and queso arrived with salsa and the ever present “green” sauce….different places have different greens…..some or avocado based, a kinda liquid guacamole (yuck…not a fan)…..or…..a jalapeno based sauce….(yeah…..am a big-dang fan)….TA serves the latter…..so, between the chips, dips and queso/ketchup combo we were all pretty happy waiting on our food….

I was feeling frisky and instead of the usuals….either Tex-Mex enchiladas or a humongous burrito and a taco…….I ordered Alambres…Fajita (shish-kabob) marinated with bacon, bell peppers and onions served with rice, refried beans, guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes and tortillas….minus the guacamole….(yuck….not a big fan)…

MEXICAN ONA STICK

We waited and I covered another cheesy chip with ketchup and I got a big “Tha’s YUUUUCKIE” from The Princess….but at this point I’m thinkin’ I’ve just created a new chip flavor…

The food arrived and my Alambres looked really good….I picked up the first skewer and pulled the first piece of fajita meat and onion off……MMMMMMMMMM……tender bacon flavored fajita meat melted in my mouth…..the sliver of onion added flavor to the already wonderful taste happin’ in my mouth…..next was a piece with bell pepper and that was just as tasty…..The Wife looked over and asked, “Can I try?”…..and being the wonderful kinda guy I am……I reluctlantly pulled her a piece of meat off and handed it to her…..she said, “This is good”……

The rice and beans were normal fair……most Mexican el’joint-o’s are hard pressed to mess up rice and beans…..but I guess it can be done…….these were as good as I’ve had anywhere else….

As I pulled the last of the meat and bell peppers from my last stick (hey……what do you know…..another meal ONA-STICK….life is goodly)….the table discussion turned to dessert…..sopapillas were the choice of the night……I wasn’t sure 12 would be enough but I was told….that would be more than enough…..

Those arrived…..fried and golden brown…..they usually are served covered in powdered sugar (sometimes cinnamon powdered sugar) and honey…..as we began to divide them up and dip them in what we thought was honey…..we all really liked them…..but…..someone commented that they really reminded them of……french toast…..and after that thought had been voiced….we all agreed…..we looked at the “honey” and found that it was in fact pancake syrup…..not sure if this is how they serve ’em or maybe they were just out of honey…..but I’m here to tell you…..it worked…….honey or not….next time that’s how I’ll ask them to be served…….

SOUTH OF THE BORDER....FRENCH TOAST

I could have eaten another 12….but I was discouraged from that…..and so…..with the last morsel of deep-fried sopapilla dipped and eaten our meal had come to an end….and I think we added another el’joint-o to our rotation…..

For good food at a price that can’t be beat…..Taquerias Arandas is worth checking out….you can’t go wrong…..breakfast, lunch or dinner….

I do apologize to any of you of the Tex-Mex persuasion…..I know it’s hard to tell…..but I really don’t speak…..Spanish…..

http://www.taqueriasarandas.com/about_us.html

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

